PilotBound estimate · Georgetown, TX · Checked September 10, 2026

What flight training at IFR Flight Training School costs

Website flyifr.com

Phone 512-751-6275

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at IFR Flight Training School

$19,255

range $16.6K$22K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on IFR Flight Training's published rates: Piper PA-28-181 Archer at $170/hr + $80/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,735
at the hours students actually take$19,255

+$7,520 on IFR Flight Training's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$16.6K$22K
Aircraft rental$12,240
Instruction$4,640
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,880
72 hrs in Piper PA-28-181 Archer @ $170/hr + 58 dual @ $80/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on IFR Flight Training School's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not IFR Flight Training School's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What IFR Flight Training publishes

checked September 10, 2026
Piper PA-28-181 Archer$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28-236 Dakota$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$80/hr

The published rate sheet is stamped "Revised April, 2023", so confirm the current figures. The page does not say whether aircraft rates include fuel. Instructor rates are tiered by aircraft type (piston $80, turboprop $90, jet $100); this estimate uses the piston rate. An ELITE BATD simulator is $35 or $70 per hour depending on model.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. IFR Flight Training's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. IFR Flight Training does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $19,255.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Texas-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,255All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $19,255 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what IFR Flight Training's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at IFR Flight Training School?
IFR Flight Training School publishes $170 per hour for the Piper PA-28-181 Archer and $80 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,255, in a range of $16,600 to $22,000. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from IFR Flight Training School.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at IFR Flight Training School?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at IFR Flight Training School to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is IFR Flight Training School a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
IFR Flight Training School does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do IFR Flight Training School's aircraft rates include fuel?
IFR Flight Training School publishes $170 per hour for the Piper PA-28-181 Archer, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at IFR Flight Training School?
IFR Flight Training School trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction is $80 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on IFR Flight Training School's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use IFR Flight Training School's published Piper PA-28-181 Archer and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by IFR Flight Training School. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you IFR Flight Training? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

One other school flies from Georgetown Executive Airport at Johnny Gantt Field.

It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. GTU is the identifier to give when you ask.

  • Genesis AeroPublishes Cessna 172S at $160/hr, no instructor rate
    Georgetown

Other Texas flight schools

All Texas flight schoolsAll Georgetown flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.