Published rates, sourced · Updated September 10, 2026
What flight training costs at Fort Worth flight schools
12 schools train out of Fort Worth. 5 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 7 are listed with what they do publish.
Across the 5 Fort Worth schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $80 to $195 per hour and instruction $50 to $95, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $11,035 and $21,925, with a median of $18,095.
4 fields: Fort Worth Meacham International Airport (FTW), Hicks Air Field (T67), Perot Field/Fort Worth Alliance (AFW) and Sycamore Strip (9F9). Whole state instead? Texas flight schools
Flight school costs in Fort Worth, in numbers
Computed from the 5 Fort Worth schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 7 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $18,095
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 5 schools with published rates
- $80 to $195
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $50 to $95
- Published instruction, per hour
- 5 of 12
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Fort Worth
- A & W Aircraft · $80/hr Cessna 152, Fort Worth
- Pro Aircraft Flight Training · $120/hr Cessna 152, Fort Worth
- Bird Dog Flight Services · $170/hr Cessna 172, Fort Worth
- Rich Aviation Services · $170/hr Cessna 172G, Fort Worth
- Exceptional Flights · $195/hr Socata Tobago, Fort Worth
Part 141 flight schools in Fort Worth
- Delta-Qualiflight Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Fort Worth
- Gold Star Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Fort Worth
- Marcair Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Fort Worth
- Pro Aircraft Flight Training · Part 61 & 141, Fort Worth
- Tarrant Cty College - Helicopter Training - CEATL · Part 141, Fort Worth
Airports with Fort Worth flight schools
- Fort Worth Meacham International Airport (FTW)Alpha Aero Academy·Delta-Qualiflight Aviation·Gold Star Aviation·Hodges Aviation·Pro Test·Rich Aviation Services
- Hicks Air Field (T67)Bird Dog Flight Services·Exceptional Flights·Pro Aircraft Flight Training
- Perot Field/Fort Worth Alliance (AFW)Marcair Aviation·Tarrant Cty College - Helicopter Training - CEATL
- Sycamore Strip (9F9)A & W Aircraft
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Fort Worth
A & W Aircraft
Part not statedLowest in TXFort Worth, TX·sycamorestrip.com
Published rates
$80/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor
Checked August 18, 2026·Source
The rates are published on the airfield's own services page, which prices the aircraft by tail number and separates the VFR and IFR Cessna 172s. Its private-pilot package is built from the same figures and its arithmetic agrees with them. The page does not say whether aircraft rates include fuel, and it states that rates and terms are subject to change. Hangars and tie-downs are priced on the same page by the month and are not training costs. The site is served over plain http with no https.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$11,035
range $9.5K – $12.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planA & W Aircraft cost breakdown →Pro Aircraft Flight Training
Part 61 & 141Fort Worth, TX·pro-aircraft.com
Published rates
$120/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are published as wet. Block rates for 50 or 100 hours are offered but the discounted figure is not published, so this estimate uses the standard rates.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,785
range $12.7K – $16.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPro Aircraft cost breakdown →Bird Dog Flight Services
Part not statedFort Worth, TX·birddogflightservices.com
Published rates
$170/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Bird Dog publishes one wet aircraft rate rather than per-tail pricing. Its fleet page lists Cessna 172s and a Piper Warrior without individual rates. A separate all-inclusive LOFT career program is sold at a flat $80,000 and is not what this estimate prices.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,095
range $15.6K – $20.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planBird Dog cost breakdown →Rich Aviation Services
Part not statedLargest fleet2 locationsFort Worth, TX·richaviationservices.com
Published rates
$170/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor
Checked August 18, 2026·Source
Aircraft rates are published per tail across two bases and the fleet page does not say whether they include fuel. The instruction rate is not on the fleet page: it appears only inside the estimate widgets on the certificate pages, at $70/hr on the CFI and CFII and $80/hr on the multi-engine, and no widget covers the Private, Instrument or Commercial. The Baron is listed as coming soon at Decatur, so no multi-engine aircraft rate is estimated here. Simulators are $150/hr for the Redbird FMX at either base and $600/hr for the Fort Worth King Air.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,675
range $16.1K – $21.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planRich Aviation cost breakdown →Exceptional Flights
Part not statedFort Worth, TX·exceptionalflights.com
Published rates
$195/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$95/hr instructor
Checked August 18, 2026·Source
The aircraft rate is published on the rental page and the instruction rate on the flight review page, where $95/hr covers ground instruction and flight instruction in a student's own aircraft. The school's own bundled one-hour lesson is $295, which is $5 more than those two figures add to, and it does not explain the difference; confirm the dual rate when you call. Every flight carries a one-hour minimum charge. Renting after the Private also requires a TB10 checkout, five hours in type and a renter's insurance policy.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$21,925
range $18.9K – $25K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planExceptional Flights cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Alpha Aero Academy
Part 61Fort Worth, TX·FTW
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Alpha Aero Academy does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Delta-Qualiflight Aviation
Part 61 & 141Fort Worth, TX·FTW·deltaqualiflight.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Delta-Qualiflight Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Gold Star Aviation
Part 61 & 141Fort Worth, TX·FTW
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Gold Star Aviation does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Hodges Aviation
Part 61Fort Worth, TX·FTW
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Hodges Aviation does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Marcair Aviation
Part 61 & 141Fort Worth, TX·AFW·marcairaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Marcair Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Pro Test
Part not statedFort Worth, TX·FTW
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Pro Test does not publish a website, an aircraft rate, an instructor rate, a list of ratings taught and an FAA part
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Fort Worth, TX·AFW·tccd.edu/locations/northwest-campus/center-of-excellence/
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Tarrant Cty College - Helicopter Training - CEATL does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Texas cities
- Abilene · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Austin · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Burleson · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Burnet · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Conroe · 5 schools, 2 with rates
- Denton · 4 schools
- Georgetown · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Houston · 5 schools, 4 with rates
- Pearland · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Antonio · 4 schools
- San Marcos · 4 schools, 1 with rates
- Waco · 2 schools, all with rates
Common questions about Fort Worth flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Fort Worth?
- Across the 5 Fort Worth flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $80 to $195 per hour and instruction $50 to $95 per hour, checked as recently as September 10, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $11,035 and $21,925, with a median of $18,095. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Fort Worth?
- A & W Aircraft in Fort Worth publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 5 Fort Worth schools listed here, $80 per hour for its Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 18, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Fort Worth flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Fort Worth is September 10, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 7 more schools in Fort Worth are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Fort Worth airports have flight schools?
- 4 fields carry the listed schools: Fort Worth Meacham International Airport (FTW) with 6, and Hicks Air Field (T67) with 3, and Perot Field/Fort Worth Alliance (AFW) with 2, and Sycamore Strip (9F9) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Fort Worth without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Texas school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy