Published rates, sourced · Updated September 8, 2026

What flight training costs at Conroe flight schools

5 schools train out of Conroe. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.

Across the 2 Conroe schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $159 to $170 per hour and instruction $60 to $65, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $17,593 and $18,095, with a median of $17,844.

2 fields: Conroe-North Houston Regional Airport (CXO) and Chennault Airfield (25TX). Whole state instead? Texas flight schools

Flight school costs in Conroe, in numbers

Computed from the 2 Conroe schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$17,844
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
$159 to $170
Published trainer rental, per hour
$60 to $65
Published instruction, per hour
2 of 5
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Conroe

Part 141 flight schools in Conroe

Airports with Conroe flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 5 of 5 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Conroe

lowest $15.1Khighest $20.6K
  • Lowest in TX

    Conroe, TX·kcxofbo.com

    Published rates

    $159/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked August 18, 2026·Source

    The rate sheet states Effective January 2023 on its face, so these figures are the school's current published card but were set three years before this check. These rates come from the school's cost sheet, which is stamped effective January 2023 and is the only place the site publishes a figure; the sheet itself says prices are subject to change without notice, so confirm them before budgeting. The sheet is laid out two-up and the duplicate half misprints the instruction rate and the Private checkride fee, which its own subtotals contradict. Rates are quoted against FAA minimums while the school notes the average Private takes 60 hours with 10 extra instruction hours. A King School ground curriculum is excluded from its totals. The school also flies a 1941 Boeing Stearman for tailwheel endorsements, unpriced, and offers a free flight in it on completing a training programme.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,593

    range $15.1K$20.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planGeneral Aviation Services cost breakdown →
  • Largest fleet

    Conroe, TX·fivexfiveflight.com

    Published rates

    $170/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$60/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Five x Five Flight does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,095

    range $15.6K$20.6K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planFive x Five cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Conroe, TX·25TX·caacxo.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Chennault Aviation Academy does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Conroe, TX·flyhpa.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    High Performance does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Conroe, TX·CXO·flyinhouston.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Lone Star Flight Training does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight schools in other Texas cities

All Texas flight schoolsFlight school costs by state

Common questions about Conroe flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Conroe?
Across the 2 Conroe flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $159 to $170 per hour and instruction $60 to $65 per hour, checked as recently as September 8, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,593 and $18,095, with a median of $17,844. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Conroe?
General Aviation Services in Conroe publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Conroe schools listed here, $159 per hour for its Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 18, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Conroe flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Conroe is September 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Conroe are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Conroe airports have flight schools?
2 fields carry the listed schools: Conroe-North Houston Regional Airport (CXO) with 3, and Chennault Airfield (25TX) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Conroe without one.

Estimates use the same method as every Texas school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy