Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026
What flight training costs at Pennsylvania flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 16 Pennsylvania schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $132 to $231 per hour and instruction $47 to $90, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $15,901 and $25,663, with a median of $18,635.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Pennsylvania
Haski Aviation
Part 61Lowest in PANew Castle, PA·haski.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$47/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Haski charges $47/hr for both primary and advanced instruction and $60/hr for multi-engine, with $10/hr more in a student's own aircraft. Its $199 airplane ride is a package that includes the pilot. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,901
range $13.7K – $18.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHaski cost breakdown →Moore Aviation
Part 61 & 141Beaver Falls, PA·mooreaviation.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Moore Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,075
range $13.8K – $18.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planMoore cost breakdown →Leading Edge Aviation
Part not statedLargest fleetDoylestown, PA·doylestownairport.com
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,519
range $14.2K – $18.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planLeading Edge cost breakdown →Ace Pilot Training
Part 61 & 141Allentown, PA·acepilot.com
Published rates
$160/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Ace publishes a rate per tail and a rate per instruction tier: $65/hr primary, $70/hr advanced and $75/hr multi-engine, with ground charged at the same figure as flight in each tier. Instruction in a customer's own aircraft is $80 to $90/hr and does not apply here. Simulator instruction is $45 to $50/hr. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,665
range $15.2K – $20.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAce Pilot Training cost breakdown →Moyer Aviation
Part 61 & 141Tobyhanna, PA·moyeraviation.com
Published rates
$165/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Moyer's published wet rates from its December 2025 flight school menu. Instruction is tiered: $65/hr primary, $75/hr advanced, $80/hr multi-engine. The commercial course adds ten hours of complex aircraft time at a cost the menu does not state. Instruction in an owner's aircraft is $80/hr and does not apply here. A simulator is $60/hr.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,025
range $15.5K – $20.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planMoyer cost breakdown →Tech Aviation Flight School
Part 61State College, PA·techaviationflightschool.com
Published rates
$163/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Tech Aviation's three Warriors are priced $3 apart by avionics fit. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,171
range $15.6K – $20.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTech Aviation cost breakdown →Keystone Aviation Group
Part 61Elysburg, PA·keystoneaviationgroup.com
Published rates
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Keystone's $230/hr flight lesson is its $180/hr aircraft plus its $50/hr instructor, which the price list states outright. A Cessna is listed as coming soon with no rate. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,235
range $15.7K – $20.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planKeystone Aviation cost breakdown →Turn 2 Aviation
Part 61Bloomsburg, PA·turn2aviation.com
Published rates
$185/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Turn 2 heads its price table "Pricing Starts at", so these figures may be a floor rather than a flat rate. Tax is added to the aircraft on top of the published price. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,595
range $16K – $21.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTurn 2 cost breakdown →Van Sant Airport
Part not statedErwinna, PA·vansantairport.com
Published rates
$170/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
A grass field of vintage aircraft. Rental is priced per hour for the Cub and the Citabria; instruction is quoted only as a combined per-hour figure with the airplane and wet, $240 in the Cub and $290 in the Citabria. Both differences give $70, which is the instructor rate recorded. The Stearman flies at $540 combined and the glider at $120 plus tows.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,675
range $16.1K – $21.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planVan Sant cost breakdown →Top Flight of Reading
Part 61Reading, PA·topflightofreading.com
Published rates
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Top Flight repeats its $60/hr instruction rate under every aircraft. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,815
range $16.2K – $21.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTop Flight cost breakdown →Hummingbird Aviation
Part 61Philadelphia, PA·hbaflights.com
Published rates
$180/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Hummingbird's rates are wet on Hobbs time. Its flying club takes 10% off rental and instruction, bringing the aircraft to $162/hr, for a $275 one-time initiation fee plus a monthly charge and no block-hour requirement. Renters must carry their own renter's insurance.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,105
range $16.4K – $21.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHummingbird cost breakdown →Philadelphia, PA·tailwindsacademy.org
Published rates
$165/hr aircraft (wet)+$90/hr instructor
Checked August 17, 2026·Source
Tailwinds' rates are wet and billed in tenths of an hour. Its instructor is paid for classroom, simulator and flight time alike at one rate. A one-G Foundation 1000 simulator is $86/hr. The school notes that renters need their own insurance, around $300, for solo flights.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,475
range $16.7K – $22.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTailwinds cost breakdown →
Flight school costs in Pennsylvania, in numbers
Computed from the 16 Pennsylvania schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 46 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $18,635
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 16 schools with published rates
- $132 to $231
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $47 to $90
- Published instruction, per hour
- 16 of 62
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Pennsylvania
- Leading Edge Aviation · $132/hr Cessna 172 IFR, Doylestown
- Haski Aviation · $150/hr Piper Cherokee 140, New Castle
- Moore Aviation · $150/hr Cessna 152, Beaver Falls
- Ace Pilot Training · $160/hr Cessna 152 IFR, Allentown
- Tech Aviation Flight School · $163/hr Piper Warrior II, State College
Part 141 flight schools in Pennsylvania (15, first 8)
- Ace Pilot Training · Part 61 & 141, Allentown
- ACES Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Beaver Falls
- Aero-Tech Services · Part 141, Lititz
- AirQuest Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Butler
- Aviation Technologies · Part 61 & 141, Avoca
- Double R Flight Academy · Part 61 & 141, Perkasie
- Fly Legacy Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Philadelphia
- Laurel Highlands Aeronautical Academy · Part 61 & 141, Latrobe
Flight schools by city in Pennsylvania
- Lititz · 2 schools, all with rates
- Philadelphia · 5 schools, 2 with rates
Airports with more than one Pennsylvania flight school
- Northeast Philadelphia Airport (PNE)AFAF Aviation·Fly Legacy Aviation·GQ Aviation·Hummingbird Aviation·Tailwinds Academy of Aviation
- Arnold Palmer Regional Airport (LBE)Laurel Highlands Aeronautical Academy·Westmoreland Aviation
- Beaver County Airport (BVI)ACES Aviation·Moore Aviation
- Bedford County Airport (HMZ)Bun Air Corp·Bun Air Corporation
- Capital City Airport (CXY)Cargill Aeronautical Academy·Harrisburg Pilots
- Carlisle Airport (N94)Cumberland Valley Aviation·Still Flying
- Heritage Field (PTW)Pitcairn Aviation·Pitcairn Flight Academy
- Indiana County Airport (IDI)Innovative Aviation·Lechene Aviation
Discovery flights in Pennsylvania
10 Pennsylvania schools publish a discovery flight price, median $150. See each price with its source
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Pennsylvania flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Pennsylvania?
- Across the 16 Pennsylvania flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $132 to $231 per hour and instruction $47 to $90 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,901 and $25,663, with a median of $18,635. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Pennsylvania?
- Leading Edge Aviation in Doylestown publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 16 Pennsylvania schools listed here, $132 per hour for its Cessna 172 IFR, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 10, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Pennsylvania flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Pennsylvania is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 46 more schools in Pennsylvania are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.