Published rates, sourced · Updated September 10, 2026
What flight training costs at Utah flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 9 Utah schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $210 per hour and instruction $60 to $85, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $15,215 and $23,715, with a median of $18,025.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Utah
Ascend Aviation
Part not statedLowest in UTWoods Cross, UT·ascendaviationtraining.com
Published rates
$130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Ascend rents to licensed pilots only after a checkout flight, and requires a renter's insurance policy, a rental agreement and a card on file. None of that is priced on the site. The $60/hr covers flight or ground instruction alike.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,215
range $13.1K – $17.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAscend cost breakdown →Upper Limit Aviation
Part 61 & 141West Jordan, UT·upperlimitaviation.edu
Published rates
$140/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$75/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Upper Limit publishes package totals by certificate alongside these hourly rates, and the two are consistent with each other. A flight simulator is $70/hr and is not modeled. Upper Limit also trains helicopter pilots and runs an associate-degree track, neither of which is modeled.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,805
range $14.5K – $19.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planUpper Limit cost breakdown →Airmotive Service
Part not statedLargest fleetBrigham City, UT·airmotiveservice.com
Published rates
$152/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$68/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Airmotive publishes two prices for every airplane, a cash rate and a card rate about $5 to $10 higher, and this estimate uses the cash rate. Instruction is $68/hr for Private students and $78/hr after the Private or in the Super Cub. A third rate, $88/hr for tailwheel instruction in an owner's aircraft, does not apply to the rental fleet.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,263
range $14.8K – $19.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAirmotive cost breakdown →True North Flight
Part not statedSpring City, UT·truenorthflightadventures.com
Published rates
$165/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
True North's rate sheet is stamped "last updated July 2022, subject to change", so confirm the figures before budgeting. Instruction steps up by phase: $65/hr for the Private, $75/hr for Commercial and CFI work, and $95/hr for tailwheel. A nine-week live ground school is $400 and a backcountry canyon checkout is $500/day in your own airplane, neither of which is modeled.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,025
range $15.5K – $20.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTrue North cost breakdown →West Desert Flight
Part not statedFairfield, UT·westdesertflight.com
Published rates
$165/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
West Desert trains for the Private and the Sport certificate in a single RANS S-21. Instruction is priced by landing gear rather than by rating: $65/hr on tricycle gear and $75/hr for tailwheel, with $80/hr in an owner's aircraft, which does not apply to the rental. The RANS S-20 Raven shown alongside it is offered for tailwheel work in your own airplane, not as a rental.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,025
range $15.5K – $20.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planWest Desert cost breakdown →Cut and Snip Flyers
Part not statedOgden, UT·cutandsnipflyers.com
Published rates
$200/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked August 9, 2026·Source
Cut and Snip publishes instruction as starting at $60/hr, so a higher rate may apply to some training, and it marks every figure subject to change.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,255
range $17.4K – $23.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCut and Snip cost breakdown →Clear Creek Aviation
Part not statedRichfield, UT·flyclearcreek.com
Published rates
$200/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Clear Creek publishes its Cessna 182T DRY, so fuel is billed on top and is not included here. It also publishes an $85/hr multi-engine instruction rate but no multi-engine aircraft, so no multi estimate is shown. A Cirrus SR22T AATD simulator is $100/hr with the instructor included, and is not modeled. A checkout is required for insurance before any non-instruction rental.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,545
range $17.7K – $23.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planClear Creek cost breakdown →Pilot Makers
Part 61Provo, UT·pilotmakers.com
Published rates
$210/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Instruction is priced per airplane: $70/hr in the Archer and the Cirrus, $85/hr in the Decathlon, the Extra and the Seminole. The aerobatic aircraft and the Seminole rent for dual instruction only, and a checkout with an instructor is required every 90 days to rent. Provo Municipal charges an airport badge fee, published on Pilot Makers' FAQ at $140, which is a real first-year cost most schools do not have.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$21,555
range $18.5K – $24.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPilot Makers cost breakdown →Cornerstone Aviation
Part 141Salt Lake City & Ogden, UT·cornerstoneaviation.com
Published rates
$210/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Cornerstone's published hourly rates, which exclude fuel surcharges billed separately per their website.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$23,715
range $20.4K – $27K
~78 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCornerstone cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Above View Flight Training
Part not statedSt. George, UT·SGU·aboveviewfbo.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Above View does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Aerotech Aviation
Part not statedWest Jordan, UT·SVR·aerotechaviation.net
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aerotech does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Airgyro Aviation
Part not statedSpanish Fork, UT·SPK·airgyro.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Airgyro Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight school costs in Utah, in numbers
Computed from the 9 Utah schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 15 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $18,025
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 9 schools with published rates
- $130 to $210
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $60 to $85
- Published instruction, per hour
- 9 of 24
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Utah
- Ascend Aviation · $130/hr Cessna 152, Woods Cross
- Upper Limit Aviation · $140/hr Cessna 152, West Jordan
- Airmotive Service · $152/hr Cessna 150, Brigham City
- True North Flight · $165/hr Cessna 172, Spring City
- West Desert Flight · $165/hr RANS S-21, Fairfield
Part 141 flight schools in Utah
- Cornerstone Aviation · Part 141, Salt Lake City & Ogden
- Upper Limit Aviation · Part 61 & 141, West Jordan
Flight schools by city in Utah
- West Jordan · 4 schools, 1 with rates
Airports with more than one Utah flight school
- South Valley Regional Airport (SVR)Aerotech Aviation·Nightline Air·Randon Aviation·Upper Limit Aviation
- Spanish Fork Municipal / Woodhouse Field (SPK)Airgyro Aviation·Centerline Aviation·Platinum Aviation
- Ogden Hinckley Airport (OGD)Axiom Aviation·Cut and Snip Flyers
- Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC)American Aviation·Cornerstone Aviation
- Skypark Airport (BTF)Ascend Aviation·FLT Academy
Discovery flights in Utah
4 Utah schools publish a discovery flight price, median $165. See each price with its source
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Utah flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Utah?
- Across the 9 Utah flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $210 per hour and instruction $60 to $85 per hour, checked as recently as September 10, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,215 and $23,715, with a median of $18,025. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Utah?
- Ascend Aviation in Woods Cross publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 9 Utah schools listed here, $130 per hour for its Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 10, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Utah flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Utah is September 10, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 15 more schools in Utah are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.