What flight training costs at Montgomery County Airpark (GAI)
3 schools train at Montgomery County Airpark, Gaithersburg. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
Updated October 8, 2026 · All Maryland flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Washington International Flight Academy
Part not statedGaithersburg, MD·learntoflydc.com
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$70/hr instructor
Checked October 8, 2026·Source
One $180/hr rate covers most of the fleet (Cessna 172s, Piper Archers and Warriors); the 172XP is $190, the Arrow $205, the Seminoles $320 and the Seneca $340. Instruction is $70/hr on every certificate page including multi-engine. The Redbird FMX is $75/hr with cheaper 10- and 20-hour packages.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$19,395
range $16.7K to $22.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planWIFA cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
A.T.C. Flight Training Center
Part not statedGaithersburg, MD·GAI·lrn2fly.com
No PilotBound estimate
A.T.C. Flight does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask A.T.C. FlightPilot In Training Flight Academy
Part not statedGaithersburg, MD·GAI·pilotintraining.com
$190/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
The rates block gives the aircraft at $190 an hour and adds a fuel surcharge on top, which the school attributes to fuel price rises. Beside it the site quotes market ranges, $185 to $220 for an airplane and $70 to $85 for an instructor; those are other schools' numbers, not this one's, so no instructor rate is recorded.
No PilotBound estimate
Pilot In Training does not publish an instructor rate
What to ask Pilot In Training
Estimates use the same method as every Maryland school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs at Montgomery County Airpark, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Montgomery County Airpark school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $19,395
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $180/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $70/hr
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates at Montgomery County Airpark
Other Maryland airports with flight schools.
Common questions about flight schools at GAI
How much does flight school cost at Montgomery County Airpark?
Washington International Flight Academy in Gaithersburg is the one Montgomery County Airpark school here with a full published rate card: $180 per hour for its Cessna 172 and $70 per hour for instruction, checked October 8, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,395. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Montgomery County Airpark flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Montgomery County Airpark is October 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools at Montgomery County Airpark are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
