PilotBound estimate · Brunswick, ME · Checked September 5, 2026

What flight training at New England Aviation Academy costs

Website neaviationacademy.com

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Perspective Touch+, CAPS. Fuel basis not stated.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at New England Aviation Academy

$37,555

range $32.3K$42.8K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on NEAA's published rates: Cirrus SR20 G7 Touch Plus at $400/hr + $110/hr instruction, checked September 5, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$21,895
at the hours students actually take$37,555

+$15,660 on NEAA's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$32.3K$42.8K
Aircraft rental$28,800
Instruction$6,380
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$35,180
72 hrs in Cirrus SR20 G7 Touch Plus @ $400/hr + 58 dual @ $110/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on New England Aviation Academy's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not New England Aviation Academy's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

What NEAA publishes

checked September 5, 2026
Cirrus SR20 G7 Touch PlusPerspective Touch+, CAPS. Fuel basis not stated.$400/hr fuel basis not stated
Cirrus SR22 G7 Touch PlusHigh performance. The advanced trainer. Fuel basis not stated.$575/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$110/hr

Both airplanes are Cirrus G7 Touch Plus models and the rates page does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is $110/hr, or $125/hr with a Cirrus Standardized Instructor; the page does not say which tier a student in the school's own aircraft pays, so the base rate is used and the CSIP rate disclosed. Ground instruction is $110/hr and the G7+ simulator $100/hr. Half-day and full-day instructor rates are also published.

Not published: the examiner's checkride fee, whether rates include fuel. Listed as missing rather than guessed.

See the published rates

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $37,555.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Scholarships you could apply forTop awards reach $22,200. Every dollar won is a dollar you never finance.
68
Lenders that cover $37,555Four of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
4 of 6

Next leg

Turn this into a plan.

Your $37,555 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what NEAA's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Estimates use New England Aviation Academy's published Cirrus SR20 G7 Touch Plus and instructor rates (checked September 5, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. An honest range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by New England Aviation Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about New England Aviation Academy

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at New England Aviation Academy?
New England Aviation Academy publishes $400 per hour for the Cirrus SR20 G7 Touch Plus and $110 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 5, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $37,555, in a range of $32,300 to $42,800. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from New England Aviation Academy.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at New England Aviation Academy?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at New England Aviation Academy to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is New England Aviation Academy a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
New England Aviation Academy does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do New England Aviation Academy's aircraft rates include fuel?
New England Aviation Academy publishes $400 per hour for the Cirrus SR20 G7 Touch Plus, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 5, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at New England Aviation Academy?
New England Aviation Academy trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $110 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on New England Aviation Academy's own published rates.

Other Maine flight schools

All Maine flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.