PilotBound estimate · Snohomish, WA · Checked September 16, 2026

What flight training at Snohomish Flying Service costs

Website snohomishflying.com

Phone (360) 568-1541

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Two-seat. Block $147.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Snohomish Flying Service

$19,735

range $17K – $22.5K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Snohomish's published rates: Cessna 152 at $155/hr + $85/hr instruction, checked September 16, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$10,180
at the hours students actually take$19,735

+$9,555 on Snohomish's own rates. Quotes usually price the 35-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$17K – $22.5K
Aircraft rental$12,090
Instruction$5,270
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$17,360
78 hrs in Cessna 152 @ $155/hr + 62 dual @ $85/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace78 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset). Note: Part 141 typically runs higher, not lower.

The hourly flying is priced on Snohomish Flying Service's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Snohomish Flying Service's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Snohomish publishes

checked September 16, 2026
Piper J-3 Cub (LSA)Light sport, tailwheel. Block $140.$147/hr fuel basis not stated
Aeronca 7AC Champ (LSA)Light sport, tailwheel. The rate sheet notes it is currently down for restoration. Block $140.$147/hr fuel basis not stated
Evektor SportStar (LSA)Light sport. Block $145.$153/hr fuel basis not stated
Evektor Harmony (LSA)Light sport. Block $145.$153/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 152Two-seat. Block $147.$155/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172NBlock $185.$195/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172SBlock $195.$205/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S G1000 NXi SVTGlass. Block $209.$220/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 182P SkylaneHigh performance. Block $219.$230/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 182RG Skylane IIRetractable. The complex tail. Block $261.$275/hr fuel basis not stated
Beechcraft Duchess 76Twin, for the multi-engine ratings. Block $352.$370/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 185 SkywagonTailwheel, dual only. Block $448.$472/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$85/hr

This estimate uses Snohomish Flying Service's published retail rates from its June 2025 rate sheet. A $2,000 deposit on account earns a 5% block discount. The sheet says a fuel surcharge may apply and does not quantify it or state whether fuel is otherwise included.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Snohomish's site does not state whether its rates include fuel.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $19,735.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone, plus 2 in Washington. Top awards reach $22,200.
53
Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,735All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $19,735 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5In the app

Track it against Snohomish's rates.

Snohomish Flying Service's rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose Snohomish when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Snohomish's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Snohomish Flying Service?
Snohomish Flying Service publishes $155 per hour for the Cessna 152 and $85 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 16, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,735, in a range of $17,000 to $22,500. That covers roughly 78 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Snohomish Flying Service.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Snohomish Flying Service?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Snohomish Flying Service to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 78 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Snohomish Flying Service a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Snohomish Flying Service trains under Part 141, an FAA-approved syllabus with a structured course of study. Part 141 can finish the private certificate in fewer required hours on paper (35 versus 40), though in practice most students at either kind of school fly past the minimum. Part 141 also matters if you plan to use VA benefits, which generally require an approved 141 course.
Do Snohomish Flying Service's aircraft rates include fuel?
Snohomish Flying Service publishes $155 per hour for the Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 16, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Snohomish Flying Service?
Snohomish Flying Service trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL), Flight Instructor, Instrument Instructor and Multi-Engine Instructor. Instruction is $85 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Snohomish Flying Service's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Snohomish Flying Service's published Cessna 152 and instructor rates (checked September 16, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Snohomish Flying Service. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Snohomish? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basis

Other Washington flight schools

All Washington flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.