Flight training at Sky Ridge Aviation

Millwood, WV · Rates partly published

No list of ratings taught. Sky Ridge publishes a $130/hr aircraft rate and a $50/hr instructor rate and nothing for which ratings it trains, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 5, 2026 against Jackson County Airport flight training page.

Based at
Jackson County Airport(I18)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Phone
304-440-0785
Website
skyridgeaviation.com

What is published

Sky Ridge's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

Sky Ridge Aviation published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Piper PA-22 Tri-Pacer (N8870C)1953$130/hrWet. Six-pack instruments, Garmin GTR 200, JPI engine monitor, ADS-B in and out.

Airframe built 1953. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 21, 2026.

Flight instruction: $50/hr

The Tri-Pacer is $130/hr wet and an instructor adds $50/hr, both stated on the about page. Nothing on the site names a certificate or rating, and the services it does name are discovery flights, advanced avionics training and ferry flights.

Why there is no total

An estimate needs a list of ratings taught.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With which ratings it trains unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • List of ratings taughtMissing from their site

    Which ratings a school trains decides how far it can take you.

What to compare their answer against

Not Sky Ridge's rates. The middle of what 4 West Virginia schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $115 to $165 per hour.
$140
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 4 schools with published rates.
$55

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Sky Ridge is not in it.

Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No West Virginia-only awards in the directory yet.
50
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Sky Ridge's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

304-440-0785
  1. Which certificates and ratings do you train all the way through, and where would I have to go elsewhere?Missing from their site

    This is the difference between one school for your whole path and switching partway.

  2. Do you train students to the Private Pilot certificate, or only discovery flights, avionics work and ferry flights?Missing from their site

    Both rates are published and no certificate is named anywhere. The airport lists the aero club, not Sky Ridge, for Private Pilot instruction.

  3. How far ahead do lessons book, and how many instructors are there?

    The site says by appointment only, with one airplane, so availability rather than the hourly rate sets the pace.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Sky Ridge Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

In the app

Track your training at Sky Ridge.

Sky Ridge Aviation is in the PilotBound app. Choose Sky Ridge when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Nearby schools

One other school flies from Jackson County Airport.

It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. I18 is the identifier to give when you ask.

4 West Virginia schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Sources

That the school exists
Jackson County Airport flight training pageChecked September 5, 2026
The rates above
Sky Ridge Aviation about pageChecked September 13, 2026

Are you Sky Ridge Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • Which certificates and ratings you trainSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Sky Ridge Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Plan the money before you commit.

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Scholarships first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.