Flight training at Mountain Aero Club

Millwood, WV · Rates partly published

No instructor rate. Mountain Aero Club publishes a $75/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 13, 2026 against Mountain Aero Club site.

Based at
Jackson County Airport(I18)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · IR · CPL
Phone
304-365-0720
Website
macflyingclub.org

What is published

Mountain Aero Club's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

Aircraft: $75/hr

The commercial page budgets the Private at 25 hours dual in the Cessna 150 at $125/hr plus 25 hours solo at $75/hr, so $75 is the airplane and $125 is the airplane with an instructor. The instructor alone is never priced, and the site does not say whether $75 includes fuel. The same page budgets instrument and time-building hours at $150/hr in an airplane it does not name. Membership dues are not published.

Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Mountain Aero Club's rates. The middle of what 4 West Virginia schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $115 to $165 per hour.
$140
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 4 schools with published rates.
$55

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Mountain Aero Club is not in it.

Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No West Virginia-only awards in the directory yet.
50
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Mountain Aero Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

304-365-0720
  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  4. What does the instructor cost per hour on top of the airplane?Missing from their site

    The site prices dual at $125 and solo at $75 in the same Cessna 150 and never states the instructor rate itself.

  5. What are the club dues, and do I have to join to train?Missing from their site

    It is a club with three bases and the site never says what membership costs or whether training requires it.

  6. Which airplane is the $150/hr one for instrument and time-building work?

    The commercial budget prices a second, unnamed airplane for everything past the Private.

  7. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  8. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  9. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Mountain Aero Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

In the app

Track your training at Mountain Aero Club.

Mountain Aero Club is in the PilotBound app. Choose Mountain Aero Club when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Nearby schools

One other school flies from Jackson County Airport.

It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. I18 is the identifier to give when you ask.

  • Sky Ridge AviationPublishes Piper PA-22 Tri-Pacer at $130/hr and $50/hr instruction
    Millwood

4 West Virginia schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Sources

That the school exists
Mountain Aero Club siteChecked September 13, 2026
The rates above
Mountain Aero Club commercial pilot pageChecked September 13, 2026

Are you Mountain Aero Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Mountain Aero Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Plan the money before you commit.

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Scholarships first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.