PilotBound estimate · Concord, NC · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Victory Lane Aviation costs

Website victorylaneaviation.com

Phone 704-784-0297

Conveniently located near

  • Charlotte
  • Wilmington

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Victory Lane Aviation

$18,885

range $16.2K$21.5K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Victory Lane's published rates: Cessna 172I Skyhawk at $185/hr + $55/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,535
at the hours students actually take$18,885

+$7,350 on Victory Lane's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$16.2K$21.5K
Aircraft rental$13,320
Instruction$3,190
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,510
72 hrs in Cessna 172I Skyhawk @ $185/hr + 58 dual @ $55/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Victory Lane Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Victory Lane Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Victory Lane publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 172I Skyhawk (N8410L)1968$185/hr wet
Piper PA-28-180 Cherokee (N2386R)1970$185/hr wet
Cessna 172S Skyhawk (N110SQ, G1000)2006$215/hr wet
Instruction$55/hr

Airframes built 1968 to 2006. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Victory Lane also lists a fourth aircraft (N7952R) at $470/hr whose type it does not state, so it is excluded here pending confirmation. Its instruction line shows both $55 and $85/hr; this estimate uses the $55/hr rate, confirm which applies.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Victory Lane does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,885.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in North Carolina. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,885All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,885 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Victory Lane's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Victory Lane Aviation?
Victory Lane Aviation publishes $185 per hour for the Cessna 172I Skyhawk and $55 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,885, in a range of $16,200 to $21,500. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Victory Lane Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Victory Lane Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Victory Lane Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Victory Lane Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Victory Lane Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Victory Lane Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
Victory Lane Aviation publishes $185 per hour for the Cessna 172I Skyhawk, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Victory Lane Aviation?
Victory Lane Aviation trains Private Pilot and Instrument Rating. Instruction is $55 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Victory Lane Aviation's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Victory Lane Aviation's published Cessna 172I Skyhawk and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Victory Lane Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Victory Lane? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

4 other schools fly from Concord-Padgett Regional Airport.

1 of them publishes at least one rate. JQF is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other North Carolina flight schools

All North Carolina flight schoolsAll Concord flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.