PilotBound estimate · Sanford, NC · Checked September 8, 2026
What flight training at Executive Flight Training costs
Website execft.com
Phone (919) 897-8882
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Executive Flight Training
range $14.4K – $19.1K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on ExecFT's published rates: Piper PA-28-140 at $155/hr + $55/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$6,390 on ExecFT's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Executive Flight Training's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Executive Flight Training's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What ExecFT publishes
checked September 8, 2026Airframes built 1971 to 2025. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. ExecFT does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $16,725.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in North Carolina. Top awards reach $22,200.
- WNCPAEF Aviation GrantFrom $500 · Western North Carolina · Open · closes in 197 days
- 47
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $16,725All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $16,725 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what ExecFT's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Executive Flight Training?
- Executive Flight Training publishes $155 per hour for the Piper PA-28-140 and $55 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $16,725, in a range of $14,400 to $19,100. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Executive Flight Training.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Executive Flight Training?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Executive Flight Training to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Executive Flight Training a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Executive Flight Training does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Executive Flight Training's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Executive Flight Training publishes $155 per hour for the Piper PA-28-140, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Executive Flight Training?
- Executive Flight Training trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $55 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Executive Flight Training's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Executive Flight Training's published Piper PA-28-140 and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Executive Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you ExecFT? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
2 other schools fly from Raleigh Executive Jetport.
All of them publish something, so you can compare before you call. TTA is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Elite Aircraft ServicesFull rate card, Cirrus SR20 at $384/hr and $115/hr instructionSanford
- Wings of Carolina Flying ClubPublishes a $50/hr instructor rate, no aircraft rateSanford
Other North Carolina flight schools
- AERO'Connor Aviation · Durham
- Aerowood Aviation · Monroe
- All American Aviation Services · Fayetteville
- Alpha One Air Service · Concord
- Amos Aviation · Salisbury
- Aqua Aero · Wilmington
- Aviators Unlimited · Smithfield
- Barrier Island Aviation · Manteo
- Bass Aviation · Mount Olive
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.