PilotBound estimate · Aurora, OR · Checked September 8, 2026
What flight training at Willamette Aviation costs
Website willametteair.com
Phone (503) 678-2252
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Two 150s; two-seat, lowest-cost start.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Willamette Aviation
range $13.7K – $18.2K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Willamette's published rates: Cessna 150 at $129/hr + $74/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$6,052 on Willamette's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Willamette Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Willamette Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Willamette publishes
checked September 8, 2026Willamette Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Willamette's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Willamette does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Discovery flight
$299
Checked September 14, 2026
Section 4Paying for it
Two ways to cover $15,955.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Oregon-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,955All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 5Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $15,955 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 6What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Willamette's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 7Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Willamette Aviation?
- Willamette Aviation publishes $129 per hour for the Cessna 150 and $74 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,955, in a range of $13,700 to $18,200. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Willamette Aviation.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Willamette Aviation?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Willamette Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Willamette Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Willamette Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Willamette Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Willamette Aviation publishes $129 per hour for the Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Willamette Aviation?
- Willamette Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL) and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $74 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Willamette Aviation's own published rates.
Section 8Sources
Estimates use Willamette Aviation's published Cessna 150 and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Willamette Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Willamette? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
3 other schools fly from Aurora State Airport.
1 of them publishes at least one rate. UAO is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Sasquatch AviationFull rate card, Piper Cherokee PA-28 at $175/hr and $80/hr instructionAurora
- Aurora Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesAurora
- Pacific FlightPublishes no ratesAurora
Other Oregon flight schools
- About Time Aviation · Creswell
- Aero Flight · Independence
- AeroForge Flight Training · Hillsboro
- Astoria Aviation · Warrenton
- Aurora Flight Training · Aurora
- Baker Aircraft · Baker City
- Bend Aircraft · Bend
- Brookings Flying Club · Brookings
- Captain Drake's Family Aerial Adventures · Cave Junction
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.