Rates partly published · Laramie, WY

Flight training at Laramie Flying Club

No instructor rate. Laramie Flying Club publishes rates for all 2 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 20, 2026 against Laramie Flying Club aircraft page.

Based at
Laramie Regional Airport(LAR)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Website
laramieflyingclub.com

Section 1What is published

Laramie Flying Club's own figures

Checked September 20, 2026 · Source

Laramie Flying Club published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
1979 Cessna 172N$135/hr160 HP, IFR certified. The club dates this rate March 1, 2025.
1962 Cessna 182E$170/hr230 HP, IFR certified. The club dates this rate March 1, 2024.

Both rates are wet and are for club members. Full membership is a $1,000 joining cost, made up of a $280 application fee and $720 of prepaid dues, and dues then run $60 a month whether you fly or not. Overnight trips bill a minimum of one flight hour per night the aircraft is away. The club publishes no instruction rate.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Laramie Flying Club's rates. The middle of what 4 Wyoming schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $155 to $185 per hour.
$180
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 4 schools with published rates.
$70

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Laramie Flying Club is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Wyoming-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Laramie Flying Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. What does an instructor cost an hour, and is training open to new members with no experience?Missing from their site

    The club prices both airplanes and prices no instruction, and its checkout rule expects either ten hours in type or training with a club instructor.

  4. Is the $1,000 joining cost refundable if I stop, and do dues run while I am not flying?

    Membership is a real up-front cost on top of the hourly rate here, and it carries on monthly whether or not you fly.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Laramie Flying Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

4 Wyoming schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
Laramie Flying Club aircraft pageChecked September 20, 2026
The rates above
Laramie Flying Club aircraft pageChecked September 20, 2026

Are you Laramie Flying Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Laramie Flying Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Wyoming flight schools

All Wyoming flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.