Published listings, sourced · Updated September 13, 2026

What flight training costs at Anchorage flight schools

4 schools train out of Anchorage. None publishes a full rate card, so each is listed with what it does publish and the questions that get its prices.

One field: Merrill Field (MRI). Whole state instead? Alaska flight schools

Flight school costs in Anchorage, in numbers

None of the 4 Anchorage schools listed here publishes a full rate card, so there is no rate range and no estimate here, and nothing below is a figure.

0 of 4
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Airports with Anchorage flight schools

Showing 4 of 4 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Alaska Floats And Skis

    Part not stated

    Anchorage, AK·alaskafloats.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Alaska Floats And Skis does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Angel Aviation Alaska

    Part not stated

    Anchorage, AK·ak.angelaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Angel Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Birch Creek Aviation

    Part not stated

    Anchorage, AK·MRI·birchcreekaviation.com

    Published rates

    $140/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published

    Every aircraft is published at a standard rate and a lower CLUB rate, roughly $10/hr apart, and the site does not say whether fuel is included. Birch Creek also sells whole-certificate packages rather than hourly instruction: a Private is quoted at $10,400 in the 172M or $8,800 in the 150F, an Instrument at $8,400, a Commercial at $4,725 or $3,550, a multi-engine add-on and CFI, CFII, MEI and a float rating each at their own price. A further aircraft appears at $375/hr standard and $365/hr club.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Birch Creek does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Land & Sea Aviation

    Part not stated

    Anchorage, AK·MRI·landandseaaviationalaska.com

    Published rates

    $145/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·2 aircraft published

    Both aircraft are published WET. A $300 annual membership takes the 172P down by $20/hr, so it pays for itself in fifteen hours. The site also quotes a dual-only special on a brand-new technically advanced aircraft, and that figure bundles the aircraft and the instructor together rather than pricing either.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Land & Sea does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Common questions about Anchorage flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Anchorage?
None of the 4 Anchorage schools we track publishes a complete rate card, so we do not estimate a figure rather than guess one. Each listing shows what the school does publish and the exact questions to ask when you call, checked September 13, 2026.
Which Anchorage airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Merrill Field (MRI) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Anchorage without one.

Estimates use the same method as every Alaska school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy