PilotBound estimate · Readington, NJ · Checked September 16, 2026
What flight training at Solberg Airport Flight School costs
Website solbergairport.com
Phone (908) 534-4000
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Two-seat trainer.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Solberg Airport Flight School
range $13.8K – $18.3K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Solberg's published rates: Cessna 152 at $130/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked September 16, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$6,108 on Solberg's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Solberg Airport Flight School's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Solberg Airport Flight School's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Solberg publishes
checked September 16, 2026Airframes built 1977 to 1985. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.
Instruction is tiered: Solberg's published rate schedule lists $75/hr for primary instruction and $85/hr for instrument and advanced, so the Instrument, Commercial and CFI legs here price at $85/hr. The airplane rates come from the school's undated per-tail webpage; its dated PDF schedule (effective March 1, 2025) lists higher figures ($145 / $185 / $205) without tail numbers, so confirm which governs before you budget.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Solberg's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Solberg does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $16,081.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No New Jersey-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $16,081All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $16,081 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Solberg's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?
This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Solberg Airport Flight School?
- Solberg Airport Flight School publishes $130 per hour for the Cessna 152 and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 16, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $16,081, in a range of $13,800 to $18,300. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Solberg Airport Flight School.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Solberg Airport Flight School?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Solberg Airport Flight School to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Solberg Airport Flight School a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Solberg Airport Flight School does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Solberg Airport Flight School's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Solberg Airport Flight School publishes $130 per hour for the Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 16, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Solberg Airport Flight School?
- Solberg Airport Flight School trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction runs $75 to $85 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Solberg Airport Flight School's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Solberg Airport Flight School's published Cessna 152 and instructor rates (checked September 16, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Solberg Airport Flight School. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Solberg? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
One other school flies from Solberg-Hunterdon Airport.
It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. N51 is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Blue Sky Aviation AssociationPublishes Cessna Skyhawk 172SP at $174/hr, no instructor rateWhitehouse Station
Other New Jersey flight schools
- 609 Aviation Flight Training · Rio Grande
- Aero Flight School · Lincoln Park
- Aero Safety Training · Lincoln Park
- Air Fleet Training Systems · Fairfield
- Air-Mods Flight Academy · Robbinsville
- Alexandria Field · Pittstown
- Andover Flight Academy · Andover
- Ascent Aeronautical Academy · Medford
- Aviation Club · Sussex
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.