Published rates, sourced · Updated September 12, 2026
What flight training costs at Farmingdale flight schools
8 schools train out of Farmingdale. 3 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 5 are listed with what they do publish.
Across the 3 Farmingdale schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $155 to $192 per hour and instruction $80 to $90, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $18,175 and $21,361, with a median of $19,255.
2 fields: Republic Airport (FRG) and August Field (NK17). Whole state instead? New York flight schools
Flight school costs in Farmingdale, in numbers
Computed from the 3 Farmingdale schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 5 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $19,255
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 3 schools with published rates
- $155 to $192
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $80 to $90
- Published instruction, per hour
- 3 of 8
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Farmingdale
- Long Island Aviators · $155/hr Cessna 152, Farmingdale
- Airborne Elite · $170/hr Bristell LSA NG-5, Farmingdale
- Global Aviation Center · $192/hr Piper Warrior III, Farmingdale
Part 141 flight schools in Farmingdale
- Global Aviation Center · Part 61 & 141, Farmingdale
Airports with Farmingdale flight schools
- Republic Airport (FRG)Farmingdale Aviation·Global Aviation Center·Icarus Flying Academy·Long Island Aviators·Nassau Flyers·O'Toole Airways·Tasco Aviation
- August Field (NK17)Airborne Elite
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Farmingdale
Long Island Aviators
Part not statedLowest in NYFarmingdale, NY·longislandaviators.com
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,175
range $15.6K – $20.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planLI Aviators cost breakdown →Airborne Elite
Part not statedFarmingdale, NY·flyforreal.com
Published rates
$170/hr aircraft (wet)+$80/hr instructor
Checked September 12, 2026·Source
Airborne Elite bills by TACHOMETER time, not Hobbs, which runs slower and makes these rates cheaper in practice than the same number billed on Hobbs. Every aircraft is quoted wet. An ELITE-RC1 AATD is $40/hr.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,255
range $16.6K – $22K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAirborne Elite cost breakdown →Global Aviation Center
Part 61 & 141Largest fleetFarmingdale, NY·globalaviationcenter.com
Published rates
$192/hr aircraft (wet)+$89/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel included). The figures shown are the cash price; card payments run a few dollars more per hour.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$21,361
range $18.4K – $24.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planGlobal Aviation cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Farmingdale Aviation
Part 61Farmingdale, NY·FRG
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Farmingdale Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Icarus Flying Academy
Part 61Farmingdale, NY·FRG
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Icarus does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Nassau Flyers
Part 61Farmingdale, NY·FRG
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Nassau Flyers does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →O'Toole Airways
Part 61Farmingdale, NY·FRG
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
O'Toole Airways does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Tasco Aviation
Part not statedFarmingdale, NY·FRG
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Tasco does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other New York cities
- Jamestown · 3 schools
Common questions about Farmingdale flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Farmingdale?
- Across the 3 Farmingdale flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $155 to $192 per hour and instruction $80 to $90 per hour, checked as recently as September 12, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $18,175 and $21,361, with a median of $19,255. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Farmingdale?
- Long Island Aviators in Farmingdale publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 3 Farmingdale schools listed here, $155 per hour for its Cessna 152, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 10, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Farmingdale flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Farmingdale is September 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 5 more schools in Farmingdale are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Farmingdale airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: Republic Airport (FRG) with 7, and August Field (NK17) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Farmingdale without one.
Estimates use the same method as every New York school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy