Rates partly published · Bluffton, OH

Flight training at Bluffton Flying Service

No instructor rate or list of ratings taught or FAA part. Bluffton publishes a $165/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction, which ratings it trains or its FAA part, so there is no total on this page.

Checked August 7, 2026 against Bluffton Flying Service aircraft rental page.

FAA part
Not stated on their site
Phone
419-356-9146
Website
blufftonflyingservice.com

Section 1What is published

Bluffton's own figures

Checked August 7, 2026 · Source

Bluffton Flying Service published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Cessna 172M$165/hr

One aircraft, one rate, and the site does not say whether fuel is included. The rate is presented as a RENTAL offer aimed at people who already fly, so confirm it is also the training rate.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate, a list of ratings taught and an FAA part.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction, which ratings it trains or its FAA part unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

  • List of ratings taughtMissing from their site

    Which ratings a school trains decides how far it can take you.

  • FAA partMissing from their site

    Part 61 and Part 141 carry different minimum hours and different financing rules.

What to compare their answer against

Not Bluffton's rates. The middle of what 13 Ohio schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $109 to $195 per hour.
$150
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 13 schools with published rates.
$55

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Bluffton is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 2 in Ohio. Top awards reach $22,200.
48
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Bluffton's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

419-356-9146
  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Which certificates and ratings do you train all the way through, and where would I have to go elsewhere?Missing from their site

    This is the difference between one school for your whole path and switching partway.

  6. What does an instructor cost per hour, and which certificates do you train for?Missing from their site

    The site publishes one aircraft rate and names no certificates, so both halves of a budget are missing.

  7. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  8. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  9. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the numbers over and Bluffton Flying Service gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

13 Ohio schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
Bluffton Flying Service aircraft rental pageChecked August 7, 2026
The rates above
Bluffton aircraft rental pageChecked August 7, 2026

Are you Bluffton Flying Service? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it
  • Which certificates and ratings you trainSend it
  • Whether you train under Part 61 or Part 141Send it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Bluffton Flying Service. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Ohio flight schools

All Ohio flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.