Published rates, sourced · Updated September 13, 2026
What flight training costs at Cincinnati flight schools
4 schools train out of Cincinnati. One publishes a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.
Queen City Flying Service in Cincinnati is the one Cincinnati school here with a full published rate card: $134 per hour for its Cessna 152 plus $66 per hour instruction, a PilotBound private pilot estimate of about $15,851.
2 fields: Cincinnati Municipal Airport Lunken Field (LUK) and Blue Ash Airport (ISZ). Whole state instead? Ohio flight schools
Flight school costs in Cincinnati, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Cincinnati school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $15,851
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $134/hr
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $66/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- 1 of 4
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Cincinnati
- Queen City Flying Service · $134/hr Cessna 152, Cincinnati
Airports with Cincinnati flight schools
- Cincinnati Municipal Airport Lunken Field (LUK)Lunken Flight Training Center·Queen City Flying Service
- Blue Ash Airport (ISZ)Blue Ash Aviation LLC
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Cincinnati
Queen City Flying Service
Part 61Cincinnati, OH·queencity.aero
Published rates
$134/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$66/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
Instruction is a single $66/hr for any certification, which is unusual: most schools that publish at all charge more past the Private. The $75/hr figure is for instructing an owner in their own aircraft, not a second tier of training here. Renter's insurance is provided. The site does not say whether the aircraft rates include fuel.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,851
range $13.6K – $18.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planQueen City cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Blue Ash Aviation LLC
Part not statedCincinnati, OH·ISZ·blueashaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Blue Ash Aviation LLC does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Flamingo Air Academy
Part not statedCincinnati, OH·flamingoair.net
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Flamingo Air does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Lunken Flight Training Center
Part not statedCincinnati, OH·LUK·flylftc.com
Published rates
$425/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Both figures here come from the excess-hours clause of the multi-engine add-on, which reads "Excess hours required will be billed at $425/hr for Aircraft (DA42NG) and $85/hr for MEI". They are real published rates but they describe the twin only. The eight Cessna 172R and 172S in the fleet, the Redbird AATD, and the PATH and FLEX programmes are not priced anywhere we could read, and a daily rental minimum applies to multi-day reservations.
No PilotBound estimate
Lunken FTC does not publish an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Ohio cities
Common questions about Cincinnati flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Cincinnati?
- Queen City Flying Service in Cincinnati is the one Cincinnati school here with a full published rate card: $134 per hour for its Cessna 152 and $66 per hour for instruction, checked September 8, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,851. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
- How current are these Cincinnati flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Cincinnati is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Cincinnati are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Cincinnati airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: Cincinnati Municipal Airport Lunken Field (LUK) with 2, and Blue Ash Airport (ISZ) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Cincinnati without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Ohio school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy