What flight training at Midwest Corporate Air costs
Bellefontaine, OH · Checked October 12, 2026
Website midwestcorporateair.com
Phone 937-889-2511
Cost estimate
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Plus tax. Fuel basis not stated. Two older blocks on the same page say $192.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Midwest Corporate Air
range $18.3K – $24.2K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Midwest Corporate Air's published rates: Diamond DA20 at $210/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked October 12, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$8,410 on Midwest Corporate Air's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Midwest Corporate Air's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Midwest Corporate Air's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteThe rate card
What Midwest Corporate Air publishes
Checked October 12, 2026Rates come from a pricing block that the site places on its privacy-policy page: DA20 $210, DA40 $260, Cirrus SR20 G7 $450, DA42 $450, Decathlon $400, AATD $150 and the ALSIM $225, all plus tax. Instruction is $65/hr flight and ground, $75/hr for CFII work and $100/hr in the Cirrus. Nothing says wet or dry. Two of the page's course blocks still price the DA20 at $192 and the DA40 at $225, so confirm which applies to you before budgeting.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Midwest Corporate Air's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Midwest Corporate Air does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $21,265.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 2 in Ohio. Top awards reach $22,200.
- ORBAA Scholarship$5,000 – $8,500 · Check dates
- Mitchell Cary and Don Gum Memorial Aviation Scholarship$1,500 · National Aviation Heritage Area counties · Check dates
- 52
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $21,265Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 5 of 6
Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $21,265 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
In the app
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Midwest Corporate Air's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?
This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Questions
How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Midwest Corporate Air?
Midwest Corporate Air publishes $210 per hour for the Diamond DA20 and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $21,265, in a range of $18,300 to $24,200. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Midwest Corporate Air.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Midwest Corporate Air?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Midwest Corporate Air to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Midwest Corporate Air a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Midwest Corporate Air does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Midwest Corporate Air's aircraft rates include fuel?
Midwest Corporate Air publishes $210 per hour for the Diamond DA20, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked October 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Midwest Corporate Air?
Midwest Corporate Air trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL) and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Midwest Corporate Air's own published rates.
Sources
Estimates use Midwest Corporate Air's published Diamond DA20 and instructor rates (checked October 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Midwest Corporate Air. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Midwest Corporate Air? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
Other Ohio flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


