PilotBound estimate · Sevierville, TN · Checked September 16, 2026

What flight training at Sevier County Choppers costs

Website seviercountychoppers.com

Phone (865) 453-5867

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Solo rate. $250/hr with an instructor.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Sevier County Choppers

$19,325

range $16.6K$22K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Sevier County Choppers's published rates: Socata TB-9 Tampico at $175/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked September 16, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,775
at the hours students actually take$19,325

+$7,550 on Sevier County Choppers's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$16.6K$22K
Aircraft rental$12,600
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,950
72 hrs in Socata TB-9 Tampico @ $175/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Sevier County Choppers's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Sevier County Choppers's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Sevier County Choppers publishes

checked September 16, 2026
Socata TB-9 TampicoSolo rate. $250/hr with an instructor.$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Archer PA-28180 HP Lycoming O-360, dual Garmin G5s, GNS 375, autopilot. Solo rate; $275/hr with an instructor.$200/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$75/hr

Sevier County Choppers publishes a solo and a with-instructor rate for each aircraft rather than an instructor rate. The $75/hr used here is the difference, and it is the same on both aircraft. Ground instruction is charged separately at $30/hr. The site does not say whether fuel is included.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Sevier County Choppers's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Sevier County Choppers does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $19,325.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Tennessee-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,325All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $19,325 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Sevier County Choppers's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Sevier County Choppers?
Sevier County Choppers publishes $175 per hour for the Socata TB-9 Tampico and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 16, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,325, in a range of $16,600 to $22,000. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Sevier County Choppers.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Sevier County Choppers?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Sevier County Choppers to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Sevier County Choppers a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Sevier County Choppers does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Sevier County Choppers's aircraft rates include fuel?
Sevier County Choppers publishes $175 per hour for the Socata TB-9 Tampico, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 16, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Sevier County Choppers?
Sevier County Choppers trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $75 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Sevier County Choppers's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Sevier County Choppers's published Socata TB-9 Tampico and instructor rates (checked September 16, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Sevier County Choppers. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Sevier County Choppers? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

One other school flies from Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport.

It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. GKT is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other Tennessee flight schools

All Tennessee flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.