PilotBound estimate · Smyrna, TN · Checked August 20, 2026

What flight training at Wings of Eagles Aviation costs

Website flywingsofeagles.com

Conveniently located near

  • Clarksville

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Wings of Eagles Aviation

$20,905

range $18K$23.8K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Wings of Eagles's published rates: Cessna 172 at $205/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked August 20, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,655
at the hours students actually take$20,905

+$8,250 on Wings of Eagles's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$18K$23.8K
Aircraft rental$14,760
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$18,530
72 hrs in Cessna 172 @ $205/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Wings of Eagles Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Wings of Eagles Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Wings of Eagles publishes

checked August 20, 2026
Cessna 172 (non-G1000)$205/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (G1000/G500)$220/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (G1000 NXi)$235/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 182 (G1000)High-performance single.$250/hr fuel basis not stated
Tecnam P2006T (N286TA)2014Multi-engine trainer. Instruction in this airplane $65/hr.$425/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$65/hr

Airframe built 2014. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Wings of Eagles Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Wings of Eagles's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Wings of Eagles trains under both parts, and the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $20,905.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Tennessee-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,905Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $20,905 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Wings of Eagles's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  3. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  4. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  5. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Wings of Eagles Aviation?
Wings of Eagles Aviation publishes $205 per hour for the Cessna 172 and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked August 20, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,905, in a range of $18,000 to $23,800. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Wings of Eagles Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Wings of Eagles Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Wings of Eagles Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Wings of Eagles Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Wings of Eagles Aviation trains under both Part 61 and Part 141, so you can pick the structured FAA-approved course or the flexible path. Part 141 is the one that matters for VA benefits and for the lower paper minimum on the private certificate; Part 61 is the one that bends around a full-time job.
Do Wings of Eagles Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
Wings of Eagles Aviation publishes $205 per hour for the Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked August 20, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Wings of Eagles Aviation?
Wings of Eagles Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL), Flight Instructor, Instrument Instructor and Multi-Engine Instructor. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Wings of Eagles Aviation's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Wings of Eagles Aviation's published Cessna 172 and instructor rates (checked August 20, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Wings of Eagles Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Wings of Eagles? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basis

One other school flies from Smyrna Airport.

It publishes a full rate card, so you can compare before you call. MQY is the identifier to give when you ask.

  • Flying High AgainFull rate card, Cessna 172M at $205/hr and $60 to $85/hr instruction
    Smyrna

Other Tennessee flight schools

All Tennessee flight schoolsAll Smyrna flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.