Rates partly published · Front Royal, VA
Flight training at Front Royal Aviation
No instructor rate. Front Royal publishes rates for all 2 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked August 13, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Front Royal Aviation at KFRR.
- Based at
- Front Royal-Warren County Airport(FRR)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL
- Website
- frontroyalaviation.com
Section 1What is published
Front Royal's own figures
Checked August 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 152 | $150/hr | Two-seat trainer. Sentry ADS-B receiver available on request. |
| Cessna 172 | $170/hr |
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Front Royal's rates. The middle of what 14 Virginia schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $90 to $225 per hour.
- $165
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 14 schools with published rates.
- $69
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Front Royal is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone, plus 1 in Virginia. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Chad Weaver Aviation Scholarship$1,000 · Check dates
- 52
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Front Royal's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What is the current instruction rate, and are the aircraft rates still $150 and $170?Missing from their site
A blog post on the school's own site quotes different, lower figures than the home page does. Ask which set is current.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Front Royal Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
One other school flies from Front Royal-Warren County Airport.
It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. FRR is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Upwind Aviation Flight SchoolPublishes no ratesFront Royal
14 Virginia schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- 3 Amigo's Flight ClubLynchburg, VA · Checked September 12, 2026$90/hr$50/hr instruction
- Bay AviationTopping, VA · Checked September 12, 2026$154/hr$60 to $65/hr instruction
- Blue Ridge AviationWeyers Cave, VA · Checked September 12, 2026$185/hr$75 to $100/hr instruction
- Charlottesville Flight CenterCharlottesville, VA · Checked September 12, 2026$145/hr$75 to $90/hr instruction
- Curtis Eads Flight SchoolSuffolk & Newport News, VA · Checked September 8, 2026$150/hr$60 to $70/hr instruction
- Eagle's Nest Flight ServicesWaynesboro, VA · Checked September 12, 2026$165/hr$60/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- AOPA flight school finder, Front Royal Aviation at KFRRChecked August 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Front Royal Aviation home pageChecked August 13, 2026
Are you Front Royal Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Front Royal Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Virginia flight schools
- 3 Amigo's Flight Club · Lynchburg
- Aero Elite Flight Training · Leesburg, Winchester, Manassas & Norfolk
- Aviation Adventures · Manassas
- Bay Aviation · Topping
- Blue Ridge Aviation · Weyers Cave
- Charlottesville Flight Center · Charlottesville
- Commonwealth Aviation · Manassas & Norfolk
- Curtis Eads Flight School · Suffolk & Newport News
- Dominion Aviation Services · Richmond
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


