Rates partly published · Birmingham, AL
Flight training at Birmingham Flight Center
No instructor rate or FAA part. Birmingham Flight Center publishes a $203/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction or its FAA part, so there is no total on this page.
Checked August 13, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Birmingham Flight Center at KBHM.
- Based at
- Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport(BHM)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Phone
- 205-849-7722
- Website
- bhmflightcenter.com
Section 1What is published
Birmingham Flight Center's own figures
Checked August 13, 2026 · Source
Aircraft: $203/hr
$203/hr wet is the rate on all five of its Cessna 172s. Its Beechcraft Bonanza is $335/hr, the Cirrus SR22T is $430/hr plus a $160/hr consumables line, and the Baron is dual-rental only. Its full-motion Redbird is $125/hr WITH an instructor, which is not an instruction rate.
Section 2Discovery flight
Section 3Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate and an FAA part.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction or its FAA part unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
FAA partMissing from their site
Part 61 and Part 141 carry different minimum hours and different financing rules.
What to compare their answer against
Not Birmingham Flight Center's rates. The middle of what 5 Alabama schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $155 to $185 per hour.
- $180
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 5 schools with published rates.
- $55
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Birmingham Flight Center is not in it.
Section 4Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Alabama-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Birmingham Flight Center's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
What does instruction cost per hour, and is it higher in the Cirrus?Missing from their site
The rental page says the school uses a wet rate system and never prints an instruction rate; a Cirrus normally needs a CSIP at a premium.
What is the $160/hr consumables charge on the SR22T?
It sits beside a $430/hr standard rate with no explanation, and the two together are most of an hour's bill.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the numbers over and Birmingham Flight Center gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 6In the app
Track your training at Birmingham Flight Center.
Birmingham Flight Center is in the PilotBound app. Choose Birmingham Flight Center when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Section 7Nearby schools
5 Alabama schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Box AviationMontgomery, AL · Checked September 12, 2026$155/hr$55 to $75/hr instruction
- Brown Aero TechnologiesAlexander City, AL · Checked September 12, 2026$180/hr$60/hr instruction
- Cofield AviationGadsden, AL · Checked September 10, 2026$170/hr$65/hr instruction
- Over The Mountain AviationCalera, AL · Checked September 10, 2026$185/hr$55/hr instruction
- Red Tail Flight AcademyTuskegee, AL · Checked September 10, 2026$185/hr$50/hr instruction
Section 8Sources
- That the school exists
- AOPA flight school finder, Birmingham Flight Center at KBHMChecked August 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Birmingham Flight Center Cessna 172 pageChecked August 13, 2026
Are you Birmingham Flight Center? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Birmingham Flight Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Alabama flight schools
- ACOM Aviation Academy · Dothan
- Aeropro · Selma
- Albertville Aviation · Albertville
- Blackstone Aviation · Hartselle
- Blue Skies Above Flight School · Lanett
- Box Aviation · Montgomery
- Brown Aero Technologies · Alexander City
- Cheaha Flight Training · Oxford
- Cofield Aviation · Gadsden
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.

