PilotBound estimate · Alexander City, AL · Checked September 12, 2026

What flight training at Brown Aero Technologies costs

Website brownaero.com

Conveniently located near

  • Sylacauga

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Brown Aero Technologies

$18,815

range $16.2K$21.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Brown Aero's published rates: Piper Warrior at $180/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,495
at the hours students actually take$18,815

+$7,320 on Brown Aero's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$16.2K$21.4K
Aircraft rental$12,960
Instruction$3,480
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,440
72 hrs in Piper Warrior @ $180/hr + 58 dual @ $60/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Brown Aero Technologies's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Brown Aero Technologies's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Brown Aero publishes

checked September 12, 2026
Piper Warrior$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Archer II$195/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$60/hr

Brown Aero publishes its rates inside an FAQ answer rather than on a rate page. Instruction is $60/hr and covers both ground and flight. Its Redbird simulator is $65/hr and a Garmin G1000 simulator course is $475. The CFI course is a flat $4,650 and the CFII $4,150. Multi-engine training is quoted as $495/hr for the Piper Seneca WITH the instructor included, so no separate twin rate exists and multi is not priced here. The site does not say whether the aircraft rates include fuel.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Brown Aero's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Brown Aero does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,815.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Alabama-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,815All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,815 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Brown Aero's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Brown Aero Technologies?
Brown Aero Technologies publishes $180 per hour for the Piper Warrior and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,815, in a range of $16,200 to $21,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Brown Aero Technologies.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Brown Aero Technologies?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Brown Aero Technologies to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Brown Aero Technologies a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Brown Aero Technologies does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Brown Aero Technologies's aircraft rates include fuel?
Brown Aero Technologies publishes $180 per hour for the Piper Warrior, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Brown Aero Technologies?
Brown Aero Technologies trains Private Pilot and Instrument Rating. Instruction is $60 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Brown Aero Technologies's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Brown Aero Technologies's published Piper Warrior and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Brown Aero Technologies. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Brown Aero? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Other Alabama flight schools

All Alabama flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.