PilotBound estimate · Mesa, AZ · Checked September 1, 2026

What flight training at Classic Air Aviation costs

Website classicairaviation.com

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Classic Air Aviation

$18,245

range $15.7K$20.8K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Classic Air's published rates: Cessna 172M at $160/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked September 1, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,175
at the hours students actually take$18,245

+$7,070 on Classic Air's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$15.7K$20.8K
Aircraft rental$11,520
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$15,870
72 hrs in Cessna 172M @ $160/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Classic Air Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Classic Air Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

What Classic Air publishes

checked September 1, 2026
Cessna 172M$160/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper SeminoleTwin, priced on the multi-engine add-on course.$375/hr fuel basis not stated
Flight simulatorSimulator.$65/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$75/hr

Rates come from the school's per-course pricing tables, which all price the C172M at $160/hr and instruction and ground at $75/hr; the multi-engine add-on prices the Seminole at $375/hr with the same $75 instruction. The simulator is $65/hr. Time-building is $160/hr. Flight accounts start at $1,000 and pay-as-you-go is allowed.

Not published: the examiner's checkride fee, whether rates include fuel. Listed as missing rather than guessed.

See the published rates

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,245.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Scholarships you could apply forTop awards reach $22,200. Every dollar won is a dollar you never finance.
68
Lenders that cover $18,245All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Next leg

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,245 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Classic Air's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Estimates use Classic Air Aviation's published Cessna 172M and instructor rates (checked September 1, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. An honest range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Classic Air Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Classic Air Aviation

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Classic Air Aviation?
Classic Air Aviation publishes $160 per hour for the Cessna 172M and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 1, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,245, in a range of $15,700 to $20,800. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Classic Air Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Classic Air Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Classic Air Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Classic Air Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Classic Air Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Classic Air Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
Classic Air Aviation publishes $160 per hour for the Cessna 172M, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 1, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Classic Air Aviation?
Classic Air Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL), Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $75 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Classic Air Aviation's own published rates.

Other Arizona flight schools

All Arizona flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.