Published rates, sourced · Updated September 13, 2026
What flight training costs at Mesa flight schools
6 schools train out of Mesa. One publishes a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 5 are listed with what they do publish.
Classic Air Aviation in Mesa is the one Mesa school here with a full published rate card: $160 per hour for its Cessna 172M plus $75 per hour instruction, a PilotBound private pilot estimate of about $18,245.
2 fields: Falcon Field (FFZ) and Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport (IWA). Whole state instead? Arizona flight schools
Flight school costs in Mesa, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Mesa school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 5 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $18,245
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $160/hr
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $75/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- 1 of 6
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Mesa
- Classic Air Aviation · $160/hr Cessna 172M, Mesa
Airports with Mesa flight schools
- Falcon Field (FFZ)Airplane Rental Ventures·Classic Air Aviation·Falcon Executive Aviation·Leopard Aviation
- Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport (IWA)Aviation Performance Solutions
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Mesa
Classic Air Aviation
Part not statedMesa, AZ·classicairaviation.com
Published rates
$160/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$75/hr instructor
Checked September 1, 2026·Source
Rates come from the school's per-course pricing tables, which all price the C172M at $160/hr and instruction and ground at $75/hr; the multi-engine add-on prices the Seminole at $375/hr with the same $75 instruction. The simulator is $65/hr. Time-building is $160/hr. Flight accounts start at $1,000 and pay-as-you-go is allowed.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,245
range $15.7K – $20.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planClassic Air cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Airplane Rental Ventures
Part not statedMesa, AZ·FFZ·airplanerentalventures.com
Published rates
$135/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·2 aircraft published
Both airplanes are priced wet on the rental page. Instruction is offered and is not priced.
No PilotBound estimate
Airplane Rental Ventures does not publish an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Aviation Performance Solutions
Part not statedMesa, AZ·IWA·apstraining.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aviation Performance does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Desert Wings Flight School
Part not statedMesa, AZ·desertwingsflightschool.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Every hourly figure on the site bundles the instructor with the airplane: the Archer II is $280/hr and the Seneca II $545/hr, both stated as fuel plus instructor included, which is not an aircraft rate and not an instructor rate. Ground training is priced on its own at $80/hr, and the cost calculator prices a private certificate at about $20,000 for 60 flight and 40 ground hours.
No PilotBound estimate
Desert Wings does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Falcon Executive Aviation
Part not statedMesa, AZ·FFZ·falconaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Falcon Executive does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Leopard Aviation
Part not statedMesa, AZ·FFZ·leopardaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Leopard prices no single-engine trainer by the hour and no instructor by the hour. What it does price is the multi-engine side: a Piper Seminole at $579/hr dual, which covers the aircraft, its fuel and the instructor in one figure, a seven-day accelerated multi course at $5,500 all in with eleven flight hours, simulator sessions at $130/hr and a $100 ground materials package, with block-hour discounts of up to 10%.
No PilotBound estimate
Leopard does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Arizona cities
- Chandler · 4 schools, 1 with rates
- Glendale · 6 schools, 4 with rates
- Scottsdale · 6 schools, 1 with rates
- Tucson · 3 schools, 1 with rates
Common questions about Mesa flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Mesa?
- Classic Air Aviation in Mesa is the one Mesa school here with a full published rate card: $160 per hour for its Cessna 172M and $75 per hour for instruction, checked September 1, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,245. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
- How current are these Mesa flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Mesa is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 5 more schools in Mesa are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Mesa airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: Falcon Field (FFZ) with 4, and Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport (IWA) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Mesa without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Arizona school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy