Published rates, sourced · Updated September 13, 2026
What flight training costs at Scottsdale flight schools
6 schools train out of Scottsdale. One publishes a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 5 are listed with what they do publish.
Scottsdale Executive Flight Training in Scottsdale is the one Scottsdale school here with a full published rate card: $109 per hour for its Cessna 152 plus $75 per hour instruction, a PilotBound private pilot estimate of about $14,573.
One field: Scottsdale Airport (SDL). Whole state instead? Arizona flight schools
Flight school costs in Scottsdale, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Scottsdale school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 5 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $14,573
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $109/hr
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $75 to $100
- Published instruction, per hour
- 1 of 6
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Scottsdale
- Scottsdale Executive Flight Training · $109/hr Cessna 152, Scottsdale
Airports with Scottsdale flight schools
- Scottsdale Airport (SDL)Aerodyne Flight Center·Flightworks·Legacy Flight Training·Sawyer Aviation LLC·Scottsdale Executive Flight Training
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Scottsdale
Scottsdale, AZ·scottsdaleflighttraining.com
Published rates
$109/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$75/hr instructor
Checked August 16, 2026·Source
Rates are dry (fuel billed separately) and based on Hobbs time. Scottsdale Airport adds a user fee (1% on rentals, 2.5% on instruction), and renters must carry non-owned hull insurance.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,573
range $12.5K – $16.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planScottsdale Executive cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Aerodyne Flight Center
Part not statedScottsdale, AZ·SDL·aerodyneflight.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+$89/hr instructor
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Aerodyne publishes instruction at $89/hr or $700 per day, and simulator time at $109/hr with an Aerodyne instructor's $89 fee on top, or $149/hr when not flown with an Aerodyne instructor. It publishes no hourly rate for any airplane: the training-rentals page shows a Cessna 310Q without a figure.
No PilotBound estimate
Aerodyne does not publish an aircraft rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Flightworks
Part not statedScottsdale, AZ·SDL
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Flightworks does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →K & S Aviation Services
Part not statedScottsdale, AZ·kandsaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
K & S Aviation Services does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Legacy Flight Training
Part not statedScottsdale, AZ·SDL·legacyflighttraining.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Legacy does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Sawyer Aviation LLC
Part not statedScottsdale, AZ·SDL·sawyeraviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Sawyer Aviation LLC does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Arizona cities
Common questions about Scottsdale flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Scottsdale?
- Scottsdale Executive Flight Training in Scottsdale is the one Scottsdale school here with a full published rate card: $109 per hour for its Cessna 152 and $75 per hour for instruction, checked August 16, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $14,573. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
- How current are these Scottsdale flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Scottsdale is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 5 more schools in Scottsdale are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Scottsdale airports have flight schools?
- One field carries the listed schools: Scottsdale Airport (SDL) with 5. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Scottsdale without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Arizona school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy