What flight training costs at Tucson flight schools
3 schools train out of Tucson. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
One field: Ryan Field (RYN). Updated September 16, 2026 · All Arizona flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Alpha Air
Part 61Tucson, AZ·alphaaironline.com
$135/hr aircraft (wet)·$65/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel and oil included; fuel bought away from base is refunded). Alpha Air is a non-profit flying club, so rates may require membership.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$15,865
range $13.6K to $18.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAlpha Air cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Arizona Aero-Tech / Double Eagle Aviation
Part not statedTucson, AZ·RYN·flytucson.com
No PilotBound estimate
Arizona Aero-Tech does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Arizona Aero-TechDouble Eagle Aviation
Part not statedTucson, AZ·RYN·doubleeagleaviation.com
Checked August 12, 2026·Source
The only hourly figures on the site are for the simulator: $80/hr, or $70/hr at what the school calls its best rate. No airplane and no instructor is priced, though the fleet page lists eleven aircraft each with its own page.
No PilotBound estimate
Double Eagle does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Double Eagle
Estimates use the same method as every Arizona school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Tucson, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Tucson school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $15,865
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $135/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $65/hr
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Tucson
Airports with Tucson flight schools
Common questions about Tucson flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Tucson?
Alpha Air in Tucson is the one Tucson school here with a full published rate card: $135 per hour for its Cessna 150 and $65 per hour for instruction, checked September 16, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,865. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Tucson flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Tucson is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Tucson are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Tucson airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Ryan Field (RYN) with 3. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Tucson without one.
