Rates partly published · San Carlos, CA

Flight training at JATO Aviation

No instructor rate. JATO Aviation publishes rates for all 17 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 13, 2026 against JATO San Carlos rental aircraft page.

Based at
San Carlos Airport(SQL)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · IR · CPL · CFI
Phone
(650) 654-5286
Website
jatoaviation.com

Section 1What is published

JATO Aviation's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

JATO Aviation published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Cirrus SR20 G3 (2015, N520YZ)2015$390/hr200hp, Perspective avionics. The cheapest Cirrus. Block rate $380.
Cirrus SR20 G6 (2021, N104KV)2021$440/hrBlock rate $430.
Cirrus SR20 G6 (2022, N311JS)$440/hrBlock rate $430.
Cirrus SR20 G6 (2020, N458MM)2020$450/hrBlock rate $440.
Cirrus SR20 G6 (2022, N665M)2022$450/hrBlock rate $440.
Cirrus SR20 G7 (2024, N574SA)2024$470/hrBlock rate $460.
Cirrus SR20 G7 (2025, N715ML)2025$480/hrBlock rate $470.
Cirrus SR20 (2026, N957JW)2026$490/hrNewest SR20. Block rate $480.
Cirrus SR22T G5 FIKI (2016, N92NF)2016$585/hrHigh-performance turbo. Block rate $575. Angel Flight discount applies.
Cirrus SR22T G6 FIKI (2017, N619PS)2017$620/hrHigh-performance. Block rate $610.
Cirrus SR22T G6 FIKI (2018, N464KB)2018$620/hrHigh-performance. Block rate $610.
Cirrus SR22T G6 (2023, N42QA)2023$635/hrHigh-performance, Safe Return Autoland. Block rate $625.
Cirrus SR22T G6 FIKI (2022, N66VG)2022$650/hrHigh-performance. Block rate $640. Angel Flight discount applies.
Cirrus SR22T G6 FIKI (2023, N512HW)2023$655/hrHigh-performance. Block rate $645.
Cirrus SR22T G7 FIKI (2024, N66SB)2024$685/hrHigh-performance. Block rate $675.
Cirrus SR22T G7 (2025, N811JS)2025$685/hrHigh-performance. Block rate $675.
Cirrus SR22T FIKI (2025, N114RJ)2025$695/hrHigh-performance. Block rate $685.

Airframes built 2015 to 2026. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 4, 2026.

Figures shown are the member rate. Each airplane also carries a block (prepaid) rate, usually $10/hr less, and non-members pay $30/hr above the member rate. The rate sheet does not state whether fuel is included. Simulators are priced separately: an SR-series BATD at $135/hr and a RealSimGear SR7X AATD at $195/hr.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not JATO Aviation's rates. The middle of what 64 California schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $95 to $269 per hour.
$160
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 64 schools with published rates.
$80

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. JATO Aviation is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
52
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what JATO Aviation's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  4. Which instructor would I be assigned, and what is that person's hourly rate?Missing from their site

    JATO prices instruction per instructor, by name, from $125/hr to $250/hr plus expenses. Your instructor choice, not the airplane, is the biggest swing in what training costs here.

  5. What do the "plus expenses" on the instructor rate sheet actually cover?Missing from their site

    Every published CFI rate carries a "+ Expenses" qualifier that the sheet never itemises.

  6. Do I need the membership to train, and what does it cost?

    Every rate is quoted as a member rate, with non-members paying $30/hr more, but the membership price is not on the rate sheet.

  7. Are the published rates wet or dry?

    The rate sheet never says whether fuel is included, which on a $390/hr airplane is a large difference.

  8. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  9. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  10. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and JATO Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5In the app

Track your training at JATO Aviation.

JATO Aviation is in the PilotBound app. Choose JATO Aviation when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 6Nearby schools

One other school flies from San Carlos Airport.

It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. SQL is the identifier to give when you ask.

64 California schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 7Sources

That the school exists
JATO San Carlos rental aircraft pageChecked September 13, 2026
The rates above
JATO aircraft rental rates (effective August 1, 2026)Checked September 13, 2026

Are you JATO Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by JATO Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other California flight schools

All California flight schoolsAll San Carlos flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.