Rates partly published · Long Beach, CA
Flight training at Long Beach Flying Club and Flight Academy
No instructor rate. Long Beach Flying Club publishes rates for all 8 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Long Beach Flying Club pricing page.
- Based at
- Long Beach Airport(LGB)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL · IR · CPL · Multi · CFI
- Website
- lbflying.com
Section 1What is published
Long Beach Flying Club's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 152 | $108/hr | Two-seat, the lowest-cost line. |
| Cessna 172 | $142/hr | The primary trainer. |
| Cessna 172SP | $176/hr | Fuel-injected 180hp Skyhawk. |
| Cessna 172RG Cutlass (retractable) | $185/hr | Complex/retractable, for the commercial TAA time. |
| Piper Warrior (5 aircraft) | $142/hr | Low-wing trainer alternative, IFR-equipped. |
| Piper Archer | $155/hr | Low-wing, IFR-equipped. |
| Piper Arrow (retractable) | $185/hr | Complex/retractable, for the commercial TAA time. |
| Piper Seminole (twin) | $312/hr | Twin, for the multi-engine ratings. |
Rates are wet (fuel and insurance included) and are the cash price; credit-card pricing is a few dollars higher (a Cessna 172 is $150). Cross-country fuel is reimbursed up to $7.25/gal with receipts.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Long Beach Flying Club's rates. The middle of what 64 California schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $95 to $269 per hour.
- $160
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 64 schools with published rates.
- $80
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Long Beach Flying Club is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Hiller Aviation Museum Flight Training Scholarship$15,000 · San Francisco Bay Area · Opens Feb 5, 2027
- 52
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Long Beach Flying Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Is the club membership required to train, and what does it cost?
The name says flying club and the site sells lessons and rentals together, so it is worth knowing which one you are joining.
Does the cash price apply if I pay by card for lessons, or only for rentals?
Every published rate has a cash and a credit figure. Over 60 hours that spread is real money.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Long Beach Flying Club and Flight Academy gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Track your training at Long Beach Flying Club.
Long Beach Flying Club and Flight Academy is in the PilotBound app. Choose Long Beach Flying Club when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Section 6Nearby schools
6 other schools fly from Long Beach International Airport.
3 of them publish at least one rate. LGB is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Aces High AviationFull rate card, Cessna 152 at $140/hr and $90 to $100/hr instructionLong Beach
- Aero AviationFull rate card, Cessna 152 at $135/hr and $100 to $120/hr instructionLong Beach
- Pacific Air Flight SchoolFull rate card, Cessna 172P at $199/hr and $100/hr instructionLong Beach
- Angel City FlyersPublishes no ratesLong Beach
- California Flight Center RebornePublishes no ratesLong Beach
- Sky Creation, IncPublishes no ratesLong Beach
64 California schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Aces High AviationLong Beach, CA · Checked September 16, 2026$140/hr$90 to $100/hr instruction
- Aero AviationLong Beach, CA · Checked September 10, 2026$135/hr$100 to $120/hr instruction
- AeroDynamic AviationSan Jose, CA · Checked September 16, 2026$143/hr$82/hr instruction
- Air Paso Flight ServicesPaso Robles, CA · Checked September 16, 2026$125/hr$95/hr instruction
- Ascent Aviation AcademyVan Nuys, CA · Checked August 20, 2026$145/hr$75/hr instruction
- Aviators Flight AcademyVan Nuys, CA · Checked September 8, 2026$165/hr$85/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- Long Beach Flying Club pricing pageChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Long Beach Flying Club Cessna ratesChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Long Beach Flying Club and Flight Academy? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Long Beach Flying Club and Flight Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other California flight schools
- 30 DAY CFI Flight Training Academy · Van Nuys
- A.F.I.T. Accelerated Flight and Instrument Training · Newport Beach
- Acampo Flying Club · Acampo
- Aces High Aviation · Long Beach
- ActivePILOT Flight Academy · Van Nuys
- Advantage Aviation · Palo Alto
- Adventure Air · Chino
- Adventure Flight · Lincoln
- Aero Aviation · Long Beach
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.

