What flight training at World Wide Wings costs

San Bernardino, CA · Checked September 14, 2026

Website worldwidewings.net

Phone 909-382-0063

Cost estimate

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

The fleet page names a Cessna 152.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at World Wide Wings

$21,125

range $18.2K – $24.1K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on World Wide Wings's published rates: Two-seat single engine at $200/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked September 14, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,775
at the hours students actually take$21,125

+$8,350 on World Wide Wings's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$18.2K – $24.1K
Aircraft rental$14,400
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$18,750
72 hrs in Two-seat single engine @ $200/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on World Wide Wings's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not World Wide Wings's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

The rate card

What World Wide Wings publishes

Checked September 14, 2026
Four-seat single engineThe fleet page names a Cessna 172 and Piper Warriors.$250/hr fuel basis not stated
Two-seat single engineThe fleet page names a Cessna 152.$200/hr fuel basis not stated
Complex single engine$250/hr fuel basis not stated
Complex twin engineThe fleet page names a Piper Comanche Twin.$450/hr fuel basis not stated
Simulator, single engineA Redbird full-motion device and a fixed-base trainer.$90/hr fuel basis not stated
Simulator, multi engine$120/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$75/hr

World Wide Wings prices by seat count rather than by airplane, and heads that section of its pricing document "Hourly Cost estimates". Its four-seat single engine hour is $250 and its two-seat is $200; a complex single is $250 and the twin $450. Instruction is $75 an hour, a one-to-one session with an instructor the same, and a ground class $60. Simulators are $90 single engine and $120 multi. The document does not say whether fuel is included. This is a full-course academy: books, training material and rental insurance are included for students taking a whole programme, and visa, medical, TSA and checkride fees are charged separately by the agencies concerned.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. World Wide Wings's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. World Wide Wings does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $21,125.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
51
Money you pay backLenders that cover $21,125Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $21,125 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

In the app

Track it against World Wide Wings's rates.

World Wide Wings's rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose World Wide Wings when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what World Wide Wings's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at World Wide Wings?

World Wide Wings publishes $200 per hour for the Two-seat single engine and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 14, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $21,125, in a range of $18,200 to $24,100. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from World Wide Wings.

How long does it take to get a private pilot license at World Wide Wings?

Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at World Wide Wings to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.

Is World Wide Wings a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?

World Wide Wings does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.

Do World Wide Wings's aircraft rates include fuel?

World Wide Wings publishes $200 per hour for the Two-seat single engine, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 14, 2026.

What ratings can you train for at World Wide Wings?

World Wide Wings trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction is $75 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on World Wide Wings's own published rates.

Sources

Estimates use World Wide Wings's published Two-seat single engine and instructor rates (checked September 14, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by World Wide Wings. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you World Wide Wings? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Plan the money before you commit.

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Scholarships first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.