Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026
What flight training costs at Colorado Springs flight schools
5 schools train out of Colorado Springs. 3 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
Across the 3 Colorado Springs schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $165 to $219 per hour and instruction $50 to $69, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $17,155 and $22,145, with a median of $19,031.
2 fields: City of Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (COS) and Meadow Lake Airport (FLY). Whole state instead? Colorado flight schools
Flight school costs in Colorado Springs, in numbers
Computed from the 3 Colorado Springs schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $19,031
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 3 schools with published rates
- $165 to $219
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $50 to $69
- Published instruction, per hour
- 3 of 5
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Colorado Springs
- The Flight School at Colorado Springs · $165/hr Cessna 172, Colorado Springs
- Springs Aviation · $183/hr Cessna 172P, Colorado Springs
- Peak Aviation · $219/hr Cessna 172SP, Colorado Springs
Part 141 flight schools in Colorado Springs
- Arapahoe Flight Club · Part 141, Colorado Springs
Airports with Colorado Springs flight schools
- City of Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (COS)Arapahoe Flight Club·Peak Aviation·Rocky Mountain USSF Flight Training Center
- Meadow Lake Airport (FLY)Springs Aviation·The Flight School at Colorado Springs
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Colorado Springs
- Lowest in CO
Colorado Springs, CO·coloradospringsflightschool.com
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,155
range $14.8K – $19.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planThe Flight School cost breakdown → Springs Aviation
Part 61Largest fleetColorado Springs, CO·springsaviation.com
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,031
range $16.4K – $21.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSprings Aviation cost breakdown →Peak Aviation
Part not statedColorado Springs, CO·cospilot.com
Published rates
$219/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$69/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Peak Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$22,145
range $19K – $25.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPeak Aviation cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Arapahoe Flight Club
Part 141Colorado Springs, CO·COS·arapahoefc.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
The club's airplane pages name each aircraft and its avionics without a price. The only hourly figures on the site are for helicopter training, at $665 regular, $580 and $539 on its two discounted tiers.
No PilotBound estimate
Arapahoe does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Rocky Mountain USSF Flight Training Center
Part not statedColorado Springs, CO·COS·21fss.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Rocky Mountain USSF does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Colorado cities
- Broomfield · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Englewood · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Loveland · 2 schools, all with rates
Common questions about Colorado Springs flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Colorado Springs?
- Across the 3 Colorado Springs flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $165 to $219 per hour and instruction $50 to $69 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,155 and $22,145, with a median of $19,031. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Colorado Springs?
- The Flight School at Colorado Springs in Colorado Springs publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 3 Colorado Springs schools listed here, $165 per hour for its Cessna 172, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Colorado Springs flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Colorado Springs is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Colorado Springs are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Colorado Springs airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: City of Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (COS) with 3, and Meadow Lake Airport (FLY) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Colorado Springs without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Colorado school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy