PilotBound estimate · Englewood, CO · Checked September 5, 2026

What flight training at Colorado's BEST Flight School costs

Website coloradosbestflightschool.com

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

N394SP, N360ES, N404FR, N5327J, N7257R, N838SP.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Colorado's BEST Flight School

$18,385

range $15.8K$21K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Colorado's BEST's published rates: Cessna 172, analog panel at $170/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked September 5, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,255
at the hours students actually take$18,385

+$7,130 on Colorado's BEST's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$15.8K$21K
Aircraft rental$12,240
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,010
72 hrs in Cessna 172, analog panel @ $170/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Colorado's BEST Flight School's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Colorado's BEST Flight School's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

What Colorado's BEST publishes

checked September 5, 2026
Cessna 172, analog panel (six tails, e.g. N394SP)N394SP, N360ES, N404FR, N5327J, N7257R, N838SP.$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172, G1000 (eight tails, e.g. N10897)N10897, N1330N, N1464C, N22265, N24144, N2459S, N6338D, N555YS.$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 182, analog (N26264)High performance.$200/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 182, G1000 (N65860, N6038V)High performance.$210/hr fuel basis not stated
Multi-engine trainer (N7703C)The twin; type not named on the page.$314/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $65/hr · instrument instruction $70/hr · commercial instruction $75/hr$65 – $75/hr

The training-programs page prices each certificate with its own aircraft and instructor rate: Private $170 and $65, Instrument $180 and $70, Commercial $180 and $75, high-performance endorsement $210 and $75, flight review instruction $100. The home page lists the fleet by tail. Nothing says whether the aircraft rates include fuel. The Redbird AATD is $70/hr and the twin $314/hr.

Not published: the examiner's checkride fee, whether rates include fuel. Listed as missing rather than guessed.

See the published ratesSource 2

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,385.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Scholarships you could apply forTop awards reach $22,200. Every dollar won is a dollar you never finance.
68
Lenders that cover $18,385All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Next leg

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,385 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Colorado's BEST's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Estimates use Colorado's BEST Flight School's published Cessna 172, analog panel and instructor rates (checked September 5, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. An honest range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Colorado's BEST Flight School. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Colorado's BEST Flight School

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Colorado's BEST Flight School?
Colorado's BEST Flight School publishes $170 per hour for the Cessna 172, analog panel and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 5, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,385, in a range of $15,800 to $21,000. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Colorado's BEST Flight School.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Colorado's BEST Flight School?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Colorado's BEST Flight School to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Colorado's BEST Flight School a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Colorado's BEST Flight School does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Colorado's BEST Flight School's aircraft rates include fuel?
Colorado's BEST Flight School publishes $170 per hour for the Cessna 172, analog panel, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 5, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Colorado's BEST Flight School?
Colorado's BEST Flight School trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction runs $65 to $75 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Colorado's BEST Flight School's own published rates.

Other Colorado flight schools

All Colorado flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.