Flight training at Summit Flight Training
Greeley, CO · Rates partly published
No instructor rate. Summit publishes rates for all 3 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Summit Flight Training site.
- Based at
- Greeley-Weld County Airport(GXY)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL · IR · CPL · Multi · CFI
- Phone
- 970-480-5590
- Website
- summitflighttraining.com
What is published
Summit's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 172M (N9621V)1974 | $235/hr | N9614H and the 172F N8840U are the same price. |
| Piper Cherokee 160 hp (N160RF)1966 | $235/hr | |
| Piper Twin Comanche (N8883Y)1970 | $360/hr | Dual instruction only. |
Airframes built 1966 to 1974. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 21, 2026.
Every single-engine airplane is $235/hr and the Twin Comanche $360/hr for dual only, per the fleet page, which also says aircraft rates do not include the instructor and never says wet or dry. No instructor rate is published.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Summit's rates. The middle of what 13 Colorado schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $73 to $219 per hour.
- $165
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 13 schools with published rates.
- $60
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Summit is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in Colorado. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Walt and Terry Barbo PPL Scholarship$2,500 · Opens Jan 1, 2027
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Summit's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What does the instructor cost per hour, and are the aircraft rates wet?Missing from their site
The fleet page prices every airplane, says instruction is extra, and never gives the instructor rate or the fuel basis.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Summit Flight Training gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Nearby schools
One other school flies from Greeley-Weld County Airport.
It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. GXY is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Songbird Aviation of ColoradoPublishes a $100/hr aircraft rate, no instructor rateGreeley
13 Colorado schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Alpine Flight TrainingGypsum, CO · Checked October 12, 2026$215/hr$85/hr instruction
- Colorado Flight CenterGrand Junction, CO · Checked September 16, 2026$150/hr$70/hr instruction
- Colorado Sport PilotLoveland, CO · Checked September 16, 2026$195/hr$60/hr instruction
- Colorado's BEST Flight SchoolEnglewood, CO · Checked October 12, 2026$170/hr$65 to $75/hr instruction
- Cortez Flying ServiceCortez, CO · Checked September 16, 2026$130/hr$50/hr instruction
- Journeys AviationBoulder, CO · Checked October 12, 2026$153/hr$59 to $64/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Summit Flight Training siteChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Summit Flight Training fleet pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Summit Flight Training? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Summit Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Colorado flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


