Rates partly published · Daytona Beach, FL

Flight training at Air America Flight Center

No instructor rate. Air America publishes rates for all 9 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 1, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Air America at DAB.

Based at
Daytona Beach International Airport(DAB)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Website
airamericafc.com

Section 1What is published

Air America's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

Air America Flight Center published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Grumman AA-5$152/hrWet.
Cessna 172 carburetted, six-pack$157/hrWet. $152/hr on a 10-hour block.
Cessna 172 carburetted, glass$164/hrWet. $159/hr on a 10-hour block.
Cessna 172SP$182/hrWet.
Van's RV-12iS$185/hrWet. Light sport.
Piper Arrow PA-28R-200$192/hrWet, and $184/hr on a 10-hour block. Retractable, so this is the complex airplane.
Cessna 172SP G1000$198/hrWet.
Cessna 172SP G3X$198/hrWet.
Piper Aztec PA-23-250E$420/hrWet. The twin.

A rich per-tail wet fleet page (a Grumman AA-5 and a carbureted 172 at $152/hr with 10-hour block discounts, glass-cockpit and larger tails higher, a BATD simulator at $74/hr) and no instruction rate anywhere on it.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Air America's rates. The middle of what 41 Florida schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $105 to $380 per hour.
$169
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 41 schools with published rates.
$69

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Air America is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 2 in Florida. Top awards reach $22,200.
48
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Air America's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  4. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  5. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Air America Flight Center gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

3 other schools fly from Daytona Beach International Airport.

2 of them publish at least one rate. DAB is the identifier to give when you ask.

41 Florida schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
AOPA flight school finder, Air America at DABChecked September 1, 2026
The rates above
Air America fleet and rates pageChecked September 13, 2026

Are you Air America Flight Center? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Air America Flight Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Florida flight schools

All Florida flight schoolsAll Daytona Beach flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.