PilotBound estimate · Lantana, FL · Checked September 1, 2026

What flight training at Aviator Training Center costs

Website flyatc.us

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Aviator Training Center

$18,185

range $15.6K$20.7K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on ATC's published rates: 2024 'Eagle' single-engine trainer at $155/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked September 1, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,480
at the hours students actually take$18,185

+$8,705 on ATC's own rates. Quotes usually price the 35-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$15.6K$20.7K
Aircraft rental$12,090
Instruction$3,720
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$15,810
78 hrs in 2024 'Eagle' single-engine trainer @ $155/hr + 62 dual @ $60/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace78 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset). Note: Part 141 typically runs higher, not lower.

The hourly flying is priced on Aviator Training Center's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Aviator Training Center's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

What ATC publishes

checked September 1, 2026
2024 'Eagle' single-engine trainer (as the school names it)$155/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172$169/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$60/hr

Rates come from the school's dated 2026 course table: the 'Eagle' single-engine trainer at $155/hr and a Cessna 172 at $169/hr, with instruction at $60/hr for flight, classroom and briefings. The multi-engine stage prices a Tecnam P2006T at $650/hr with instructor combined; the table's printed split of that figure looks transposed, so it is not recorded as a twin rate.

Not published: the examiner's checkride fee, whether rates include fuel. Listed as missing rather than guessed.

See the published rates

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,185.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Scholarships you could apply forTop awards reach $22,200. Every dollar won is a dollar you never finance.
68
Lenders that cover $18,185All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Next leg

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,185 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what ATC's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Estimates use Aviator Training Center's published 2024 'Eagle' single-engine trainer and instructor rates (checked September 1, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. An honest range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Aviator Training Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Aviator Training Center

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Aviator Training Center?
Aviator Training Center publishes $155 per hour for the 2024 'Eagle' single-engine trainer and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 1, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,185, in a range of $15,600 to $20,700. That covers roughly 78 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Aviator Training Center.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Aviator Training Center?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Aviator Training Center to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 78 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Aviator Training Center a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Aviator Training Center trains under Part 141, an FAA-approved syllabus with a structured course of study. Part 141 can finish the private certificate in fewer required hours on paper (35 versus 40), though in practice most students at either kind of school fly past the minimum. Part 141 also matters if you plan to use VA benefits, which generally require an approved 141 course.
Do Aviator Training Center's aircraft rates include fuel?
Aviator Training Center publishes $155 per hour for the 2024 'Eagle' single-engine trainer, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 1, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Aviator Training Center?
Aviator Training Center trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction is $60 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Aviator Training Center's own published rates.

Other Florida flight schools

All Florida flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.