Flight training at Pensacola Navy Flying Club
Pensacola, FL · Rates partly published
No instructor rate or list of ratings taught. PNFC publishes rates for all 3 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction or which ratings it trains, so there is no total on this page.
Checked October 16, 2026 against Pensacola International Airport general aviation page, which lists the club among flight training.
- Based at
- Pensacola International Airport(PNS)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Website
- pnfc.org
What is published
PNFC's own figures
Checked October 16, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 172 (N64344, N1241U)1976 | $125/hr | Wet. 160 hp; a 1982 172P and a 1976 172M. |
| Piper Archer (N2528U, 1979)1979 | $135/hr | Wet. 180 hp. |
| Piper Arrow (N56488, 1973)1973 | $165/hr | Wet. 200 hp, retractable, Garmin G3X. |
Airframes built 1973 to 1979. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 21, 2026.
A private, member-owned club for the local community, not limited to the military. Joining costs $675 ($500 initiation, the first month's $75 dues and a $100 refundable badge deposit), then $75 a month. The club is at its 110-member limit with a waiting list of more than six months. The simulator is free to members.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate and a list of ratings taught.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction or which ratings it trains unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
List of ratings taughtMissing from their site
Which ratings a school trains decides how far it can take you.
What to compare their answer against
Not PNFC's rates. The middle of what 43 Florida schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $105 to $380 per hour.
- $169
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 43 schools with published rates.
- $70
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. PNFC is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 2 in Florida. Top awards reach $22,200.
- CFBAA Foundation ScholarshipAmount varies · Check dates
- James C. Ray Flight Training Scholarship (ACE)Amount varies · Polk County · Open · closes in 10 days
- 52
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what PNFC's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Which certificates and ratings do you train all the way through, and where would I have to go elsewhere?Missing from their site
This is the difference between one school for your whole path and switching partway.
Can a student pilot with no certificate join, which certificates do your instructors train for, and what do they charge per hour?Missing from their site
The club offers training to people just starting out and names no certificate and no instruction rate, and membership has a waiting list.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the numbers over and Pensacola Navy Flying Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Nearby schools
2 other schools fly from Pensacola International Airport.
1 of them publishes at least one rate. PNS is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Pensacola Air Flight SchoolFull rate card, Piper Warrior 151/161 at $180/hr and $60 to $65/hr instructionPensacola
- SkyWarrior, Inc.Publishes no ratesPensacola
43 Florida schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- A-Cent AviationJacksonville & Fernandina Beach, FL · Checked September 12, 2026$125/hr$65/hr instruction
- Aerosmith AviationPanama City, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$200/hr$75/hr instruction
- AMS Flight SchoolMilton, FL · Checked September 12, 2026$195/hr$60 to $65/hr instruction
- ATA Flight SchoolFort Lauderdale, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$175/hr$60/hr instruction
- Aviator Training CenterLantana, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$155/hr$60/hr instruction
- Bartow Flying ServiceBartow, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$150/hr$55/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Pensacola International Airport general aviation page, which lists the club among flight trainingChecked October 16, 2026
- The rates above
- Pensacola Navy Flying Club how-to-join pageChecked October 16, 2026
Are you Pensacola Navy Flying Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Pensacola Navy Flying Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Florida flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


