What flight training at Universal Flight Training costs
Sarasota, FL · Checked October 19, 2026
Website flyuft.com
Phone (941) 300-0309
Cost estimate
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
1975. 180 hp. Wet, no fuel surcharge.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Universal Flight Training
range $15.7K – $20.9K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Universal's published rates: Piper Cherokee at $169/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked October 19, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$7,098 on Universal's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Universal Flight Training's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Universal Flight Training's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteThe rate card
What Universal publishes
Checked October 19, 2026Airframes built 1975 to 2022. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 21, 2026.
Rates are published per airplane on each aircraft's page, wet where stated. The Archer and the two older 172S carry a standing $10/hr fuel surcharge on top, disclosed here and not added; the Cherokee does not. The 2018 172SP and the 2022 T182 publish a rate with no wet or dry wording. Instruction is $65/hr on every airplane and in the simulator, which is $115/hr plus instructor. Two Cirrus SR22-G6 and a Diamond DA50 are listed with rates on request.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Universal does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Discovery flight
$299
Checked October 19, 2026
About 30 to 40 minutes with an instructor, in one of the school's airplanes.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $18,313.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 2 in Florida. Top awards reach $22,200.
- CFBAA Foundation ScholarshipAmount varies · Check dates
- James C. Ray Flight Training Scholarship (ACE)Amount varies · Polk County · Open · closes in 10 days
- 52
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,313All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $18,313 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
In the app
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Universal's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Questions
How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Universal Flight Training?
Universal Flight Training publishes $169 per hour for the Piper Cherokee and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 19, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,313, in a range of $15,700 to $20,900. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Universal Flight Training.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Universal Flight Training?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Universal Flight Training to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Universal Flight Training a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Universal Flight Training does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Universal Flight Training's aircraft rates include fuel?
Universal Flight Training publishes $169 per hour for the Piper Cherokee, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked October 19, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Universal Flight Training?
Universal Flight Training trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Universal Flight Training's own published rates.
Sources
Estimates use Universal Flight Training's published Piper Cherokee and instructor rates (checked October 19, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Universal Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Universal? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
4 other schools fly from Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport.
None of them publishes a rate, so every one is a phone call. SRQ is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Cirrus AviationPublishes no ratesSarasota
- Florida Flight CenterPublishes no ratesSarasota
- SRQliftPublishes no ratesSarasota
- The Pilot PlacePublishes no ratesSarasota
Other Florida flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


