What flight training costs at Sarasota flight schools
6 schools train out of Sarasota. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 5 are listed with what they do publish.
One field: Sarasota Bradenton International Airport (SRQ). Updated October 19, 2026 · All Florida flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Universal Flight Training
Part not statedSarasota, FL·flyuft.com
$169/hr aircraft (wet)·$65/hr instructor
Checked October 19, 2026·Source
Rates are published per airplane on each aircraft's page, wet where stated. The Archer and the two older 172S carry a standing $10/hr fuel surcharge on top, disclosed here and not added; the Cherokee does not. The 2018 172SP and the 2022 T182 publish a rate with no wet or dry wording. Instruction is $65/hr on every airplane and in the simulator, which is $115/hr plus instructor. Two Cirrus SR22-G6 and a Diamond DA50 are listed with rates on request.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$18,313
range $15.7K to $20.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planUniversal cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Academic Flight
Part not statedSarasota, FL·academicflight.com
aircraft rate not published·$60/hr instructor
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Flight and ground instruction are $60/hour or $400/day, and remote instruction over Zoom is $50/hour or $350/day. Some courses are fixed price instead, such as a multi-engine course at $3,995. The school brings the instructor rather than the airplane, so no aircraft rate is published.
Cirrus Aviation
Part 61 & 141Sarasota, FL·SRQ·cirrusaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
Cirrus Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Cirrus AviationFlorida Flight Center
Part not statedSarasota, FL·SRQ·floridaflightcenter.com
No PilotBound estimate
FL Flight Center does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask FL Flight CenterSRQlift
Part not statedSarasota, FL·SRQ·srqlift.com
No PilotBound estimate
SRQlift does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask SRQliftThe Pilot Place
Part not statedSarasota, FL·SRQ·thepilotplace.com
Checked September 1, 2026·Source
Publishes TIME-BUILDING block rates only ($65/hr for 10 hours dropping to $55/hr for 50 on the economy tail, a twin at $169 to $179/hr), which are hour-building products, not training rates; no instruction rate exists.
No PilotBound estimate
Pilot Place does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Pilot Place
Estimates use the same method as every Florida school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Sarasota, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Sarasota school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 5 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $18,313
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $169/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $65/hr
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 6
Lowest published trainer rates in Sarasota
Part 141 flight schools in Sarasota
Airports with Sarasota flight schools
Flight schools in other Florida cities.
- Bartow2 schools, all with rates
- Brooksville3 schools, 1 with rates
- Clearwater4 schools
- Daytona Beach4 schools, 1 with rates
- Fort Lauderdale8 schools, 3 with rates
- Inverness2 schools, all with rates
- Jacksonville3 schools, 2 with rates
- Kissimmee3 schools, 1 with rates
- Lantana3 schools, 1 with rates
- Miami10 schools, 1 with rates
- Naples5 schools, 1 with rates
- Orlando4 schools, 1 with rates
- Pembroke Pines4 schools, 3 with rates
- Pensacola3 schools, 1 with rates
- Pompano Beach4 schools, 1 with rates
- Punta Gorda4 schools, 2 with rates
- Sebastian3 schools
- Zephyrhills3 schools, 2 with rates
Common questions about Sarasota flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Sarasota?
Universal Flight Training in Sarasota is the one Sarasota school here with a full published rate card: $169 per hour for its Piper Cherokee and $65 per hour for instruction, checked October 19, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,313. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Sarasota flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Sarasota is October 19, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 5 more schools in Sarasota are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Sarasota airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Sarasota Bradenton International Airport (SRQ) with 5. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Sarasota without one.
