What flight training costs at Clearwater flight schools
4 schools train out of Clearwater. None publishes a full rate card, so each is listed with what it does publish.
2 fields: St Pete-Clearwater International Airport (PIE) and Clearwater Exec Airport (CLW). Updated September 13, 2026 · All Florida flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Clearwater Aviation
Part 141Clearwater, FL·PIE·clearwateraviation.com
$195/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published
The whole fleet is priced wet and the multi-engine instructor is $105/hr, but no primary instruction rate exists anywhere: the Private is priced only as a Part 141 course total ($14,870 at the 35-hour minimum).
FL Sky Aviation
Part not statedClearwater, FL·PIE·floridaskyaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
FL Sky Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask FL Sky AviationTampa Bay Aviation
Part not statedClearwater, FL·CLW·tampabayaviation.com
$185/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·6 aircraft published
Every aircraft carries its own page and its own price, from $185/hr for the older Skyhawks to $245 for the Piper Pilot 100i, all wet. THE SCHOOL'S OWN TRAINING PAGE DISAGREES with those pages: it says the aircraft "range from $120" an hour, and no airplane page shows anything below $185, so ask what the $120 airplane is before planning around it. A Robinson R44 is $585/hr. No instruction rate is published anywhere, and several airframes on the fleet index carry no price on their pages at all.
No PilotBound estimate
Tampa Bay does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Tampa BayV1 Aeronautical
Part not statedClearwater, FL·PIE·v1aeronautical.com
Estimates use the same method as every Florida school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Clearwater, in numbers
None of the 4 Clearwater schools listed here publishes a full rate card, so there is no rate range and no estimate here, and nothing below is a figure.
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 0 of 4
Part 141 flight schools in Clearwater
Airports with Clearwater flight schools
Clearwater Exec Airport CLW
Flight schools in other Florida cities.
- Bartow2 schools, all with rates
- Brooksville3 schools, 1 with rates
- Daytona Beach4 schools, 1 with rates
- Fort Lauderdale8 schools, 3 with rates
- Inverness2 schools, all with rates
- Jacksonville3 schools, 2 with rates
- Kissimmee3 schools, 1 with rates
- Lantana3 schools, 1 with rates
- Miami10 schools, 1 with rates
- Naples5 schools, 1 with rates
- Orlando4 schools, 1 with rates
- Pembroke Pines4 schools, 3 with rates
- Pensacola3 schools, 1 with rates
- Pompano Beach4 schools, 1 with rates
- Punta Gorda4 schools, 2 with rates
- Sarasota6 schools, 1 with rates
- Sebastian3 schools
- Zephyrhills3 schools, 2 with rates
Common questions about Clearwater flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Clearwater?
None of the 4 Clearwater schools we track publishes a complete rate card, so we do not estimate a figure rather than guess one. Each listing shows what the school does publish and the exact questions to ask when you call, checked September 13, 2026.
Which Clearwater airports have flight schools?
2 fields carry the listed schools: St Pete-Clearwater International Airport (PIE) with 3, and Clearwater Exec Airport (CLW) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Clearwater without one.
