Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026
What flight training costs at Jacksonville flight schools
3 schools train out of Jacksonville. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
Across the 2 Jacksonville schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $150 to $160 per hour and instruction $60 to $80, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $17,375 and $17,815, with a median of $17,595.
2 fields: Herlong Airport (HEG) and Jacksonville International Airport (JAX). Whole state instead? Florida flight schools
Flight school costs in Jacksonville, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Jacksonville schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- $17,595
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $150 to $160
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $60 to $80
- Published instruction, per hour
- 2 of 3
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Jacksonville
- Holladay Aviation · $150/hr Cessna 150, Jacksonville
- Primary Flight Control · $160/hr Cessna 172P, Jacksonville
Airports with Jacksonville flight schools
- Herlong Airport (HEG)Primary Flight Control
- Jacksonville International Airport (JAX)Holladay Aviation
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Jacksonville
Primary Flight Control
Part not statedLowest in FLJacksonville, FL·primaryflightcontrol.com
Published rates
$160/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 1, 2026·Source
Rates include fuel, subject to the school's current fuel surcharge. Each aircraft's dual price is exactly its solo price plus $60, which is also the printed ground and flight-review rate. The tour and aerial-service prices on the pricing sheet are not training rates. Own-aircraft instruction is $75/hr.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,375
range $14.9K – $19.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPFC cost breakdown →Holladay Aviation
Part not statedLargest fleetJacksonville, FL·holladayaviation.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Holladay does not state whether its aircraft rates include fuel. Instruction is billed separately at $80/hr. All aircraft carry Garmin avionics with ADS-B traffic and weather. The school also runs ultralight safety training at Hilliard, which is not priced here.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,815
range $15.3K – $20.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHolladay cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Beach Banners
Part not statedJacksonville, FL·beachbanners.com
Published rates
$129/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published
Nine IFR-certified aircraft, each with a wet rental rate on its own page. This is a banner-towing and aerial-photography operator that rents and trains alongside; the instructor is not priced.
No PilotBound estimate
Beach Banners does not publish an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Florida cities
- Bartow · 2 schools, all with rates
- Brooksville · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Clearwater · 4 schools
- Daytona Beach · 4 schools, 1 with rates
- Fort Lauderdale · 7 schools, 3 with rates
- Inverness · 2 schools, all with rates
- Lantana · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Miami · 10 schools, 1 with rates
- Naples · 5 schools, 1 with rates
- Orlando · 4 schools, 1 with rates
- Pembroke Pines · 4 schools, 3 with rates
- Sarasota · 6 schools, 1 with rates
- Sebastian · 3 schools
- Zephyrhills · 3 schools, 2 with rates
Common questions about Jacksonville flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Jacksonville?
- Across the 2 Jacksonville flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $150 to $160 per hour and instruction $60 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,375 and $17,815, with a median of $17,595. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Jacksonville?
- Holladay Aviation in Jacksonville publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Jacksonville schools listed here, $150 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Jacksonville flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Jacksonville is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Jacksonville is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Jacksonville airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: Herlong Airport (HEG) with one, and Jacksonville International Airport (JAX) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Jacksonville without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Florida school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy