PilotBound estimate · Winder, GA · Checked September 12, 2026

What flight training at Dragonfly Aviation costs

Website dragonflyav.com

Phone (678) 506-1222

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Two-seat. Club rate; the non-member rate is $155/hr. Instruction $60 to $100/hr.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Dragonfly Aviation

$15,935

range $13.7K$18.2K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Dragonfly's published rates: Diamond DA20-C1 at $140/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,895
at the hours students actually take$15,935

+$6,040 on Dragonfly's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$13.7K$18.2K
Aircraft rental$10,080
Instruction$3,480
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$13,560
72 hrs in Diamond DA20-C1 @ $140/hr + 58 dual @ $60/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Dragonfly Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Dragonfly Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Dragonfly publishes

checked September 12, 2026
CubCrafters CC11-100 Sport CubTailwheel light sport, needs an endorsement. Instruction in this airplane $85/hr.$145/hr fuel basis not stated
Diamond DA20-C1Two-seat. Club rate; the non-member rate is $155/hr. Instruction $60 to $100/hr.$140/hr fuel basis not stated
Diamond DA40-180The four-seat trainer. Instruction $60 to $100/hr.$205/hr fuel basis not stated
Cirrus SR20 G6 (2018)Instruction $80 to $150/hr on this type. Instruction in this airplane $80/hr.$260/hr fuel basis not stated
Game Aerospace GB1 GameBird (2024)Aerobatic, not a primary trainer. Instruction in this airplane $150/hr.$385/hr fuel basis not stated
Diamond DA42 Twin Star (2008)The multi-engine trainer. Instruction in this airplane $100/hr.$425/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $60/hr · multi-engine instruction $100/hr$60 – $150/hr

These are Dragonfly's CLUB (member) rates, which are the only rates published for the whole fleet. The Diamond DA20 also carries a non-member rate of $155/hr against its $140 club rate, so budget a similar gap on the other aircraft; non-member rates for the rest are not published. The site does not say whether rates include fuel. Instruction is published as a RANGE that varies by aircraft ($60 to $100 on the Diamonds, $80 to $150 on the Cirrus); this estimate uses the low end of each, so confirm your instructor's rate.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Dragonfly's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Dragonfly does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

$89

Checked September 14, 2026

In a Diamond DA20. $139 in a DA40 and $299 in a Game GB1.

Discovery flight prices in Georgia

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $15,935.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Georgia-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,935All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $15,935 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Dragonfly's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Dragonfly Aviation?
Dragonfly Aviation publishes $140 per hour for the Diamond DA20-C1 and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,935, in a range of $13,700 to $18,200. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Dragonfly Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Dragonfly Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Dragonfly Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Dragonfly Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Dragonfly Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Dragonfly Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
Dragonfly Aviation publishes $140 per hour for the Diamond DA20-C1, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Dragonfly Aviation?
Dragonfly Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction runs $60 to $150 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Dragonfly Aviation's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Dragonfly Aviation's published Diamond DA20-C1 and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Dragonfly Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Dragonfly? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Other Georgia flight schools

All Georgia flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.