Rates partly published · West Chicago, IL
Flight training at Fox Flying Club
No instructor rate. Fox Flying publishes a $104/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Fox Flying Club site.
- Based at
- DuPage Airport(DPA)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Website
- foxflying.com
Section 1What is published
Fox Flying's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
Aircraft: $104/hr
The FAQ prices the club Cessna 172 at $104 per tach hour, wet, and membership at $350 initiation and $100/month. Instruction is by club instructors and is not priced.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Fox Flying's rates. The middle of what 16 Illinois schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $130 to $430 per hour.
- $159
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 16 schools with published rates.
- $65
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Fox Flying is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Illinois-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Fox Flying's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What do the club instructors charge per hour?Missing from their site
The airplane and the dues are priced and the instructor is not.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Fox Flying Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
4 other schools fly from DuPage Airport.
None of them publishes a rate, so every one is a phone call. DPA is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Achieve AviationPublishes no ratesWest Chicago
- Avel Flight SchoolPublishes no ratesWest Chicago
- Travel Express AviationPublishes no ratesWest Chicago
- Vagabond Flying AssociationPublishes no ratesWest Chicago
16 Illinois schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Aeronautics AcademyChicago, IL · Checked September 10, 2026$159/hr$65/hr instruction
- Boraam AviationProspect Heights, IL · Checked September 10, 2026$140/hr$90 to $100/hr instruction
- Chicago Executive Flight SchoolWheeling, IL · Checked October 8, 2026$130/hr$85/hr instruction
- Citywings Flight SchoolSchaumburg, IL · Checked September 10, 2026$130/hr$65/hr instruction
- Fly SynergyBloomington, IL · Checked September 10, 2026$430/hr$125/hr instruction
- Freedom Flying CompanySugar Grove, IL · Checked October 1, 2026$150/hr$100/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- Fox Flying Club siteChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Fox Flying Club FAQChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Fox Flying Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Fox Flying Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Illinois flight schools
- Achieve Aviation · West Chicago
- Advanced Aviation Training · Freeport
- Aeronautics Academy · Chicago
- Airgo Academy · Centralia
- Allmond Aviation, LLC · Sparta
- Avel Flight School · West Chicago
- Aviation Professionals · Chicago
- Blue Skies Flying Services · Lake in the Hills
- Blue Sky Aero · Morris
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


