Flight training at Leading Edge Flying Club
Wheeling, IL · Rates partly published
No instructor rate. Leading Edge Flying Club publishes a $220/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Leading Edge Flying Club site.
- Based at
- Chicago Executive Airport(PWK)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Phone
- 872-333-2955
- Website
- leadingedgeflyingclub.com
What is published
Leading Edge Flying Club's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Piper Archer III (2004, N3096B) | $220/hr | Per Hobbs hour, wet. |
The Archer III is $220 per Hobbs hour wet with block rates offered. Five instructors are listed by name and none is priced; dues are not published.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Leading Edge Flying Club's rates. The middle of what 16 Illinois schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $130 to $430 per hour.
- $159
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 16 schools with published rates.
- $65
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Leading Edge Flying Club is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Illinois-only awards in the directory yet.
- 50
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Leading Edge Flying Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What do the instructors charge, and what are the dues?Missing from their site
The airplane is priced wet and nothing else is.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Leading Edge Flying Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Track your training at Leading Edge Flying Club.
Leading Edge Flying Club is in the PilotBound app. Choose Leading Edge Flying Club when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Nearby schools
5 other schools fly from Chicago Executive Airport.
4 of them publish at least one rate. PWK is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Boraam AviationFull rate card, Cessna 152 at $140/hr and $90 to $100/hr instructionProspect Heights
- Chicago Executive Flight SchoolFull rate card, Cessna 150 at $130/hr and $85/hr instructionWheeling
- WAir AviationFull rate card, Cessna 150J at $175/hr and $85/hr instructionWheeling
- Fly TherePublishes no ratesWheeling
- Zain AviationPublishes Cessna 152 at $190/hr, no instructor rateWheeling
16 Illinois schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Aeronautics AcademyChicago, IL · Checked October 16, 2026$159/hr$65/hr instruction
- Boraam AviationProspect Heights, IL · Checked October 16, 2026$140/hr$90 to $100/hr instruction
- Chicago Executive Flight SchoolWheeling, IL · Checked October 8, 2026$130/hr$85/hr instruction
- Citywings Flight SchoolSchaumburg, IL · Checked October 16, 2026$130/hr$65/hr instruction
- Fly SynergyBloomington, IL · Checked October 16, 2026$430/hr$125/hr instruction
- Freedom Flying CompanySugar Grove, IL · Checked October 1, 2026$150/hr$100/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Leading Edge Flying Club siteChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Leading Edge Flying Club aircraft page, N3096BChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Leading Edge Flying Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Leading Edge Flying Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.

