Published rates, sourced · Updated September 13, 2026

What flight training costs at Wheeling flight schools

5 schools train out of Wheeling. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.

Across the 2 Wheeling schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $175 per hour and instruction $85 to $85, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $16,665 and $19,905, with a median of $18,285.

One field: Chicago Executive Airport (PWK). Whole state instead? Illinois flight schools

Flight school costs in Wheeling, in numbers

Computed from the 2 Wheeling schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$18,285
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
$130 to $175
Published trainer rental, per hour
$85/hr
Published instruction, per hour
2 of 5
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Wheeling

Airports with Wheeling flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 5 of 5 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Wheeling

lowest $14.3Khighest $22.7K
  • Lowest in IL

    Wheeling, IL·chicagoexecutiveflightschool.com

    Published rates

    $130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$85/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    The published rates are before a fuel surcharge that Chicago Executive states as $10/hr on the Cessna 150 and $20/hr on the Cessna 172, so budget those on top. Prepaid block plans of $2,500 and $5,000 lower the rates further ($118.50 and $107.00 on the 150, $178.00 and $161.00 on the 172); the retail rate is modeled. Instruction is $75/hr with a standard instructor and $150/hr with a senior instructor. A Frasca simulator is $90/hr and is not modeled. The fleet page also lists a Beechcraft Sundowner that the pricing page does not price.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $16,665

    range $14.3K$19K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planChicago Executive cost breakdown →
  • Largest fleet

    Wheeling, IL·wairaviation.com

    Published rates

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)+$85/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,905

    range $17.1K$22.7K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planWAir cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Fly There

    Part not stated

    Wheeling, IL·PWK·flytherellc.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Fly There does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Wheeling, IL·PWK·leadingedgeflyingclub.com

    Published rates

    $220/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    The Archer III is $220 per Hobbs hour wet with block rates offered. Five instructors are listed by name and none is priced; dues are not published.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Leading Edge Flying Club does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Zain Aviation

    Part not stated

    Wheeling, IL·PWK·zainaviation.com

    Published rates

    $190/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·3 aircraft published

    Solo rates are recorded as the aircraft rates. Dual rates run $50 above solo on the 152 and $70 above on the Arrow, so the pairs do not agree and no instructor rate is derived. Nothing says wet or dry. A simulator is $60/hr.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Zain does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight schools in other Illinois cities

All Illinois flight schoolsFlight school costs by state

Common questions about Wheeling flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Wheeling?
Across the 2 Wheeling flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $175 per hour and instruction $85 to $85 per hour, checked as recently as September 13, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $16,665 and $19,905, with a median of $18,285. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Wheeling?
Chicago Executive Flight School in Wheeling publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Wheeling schools listed here, $130 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 5, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Wheeling flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Wheeling is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Wheeling are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Wheeling airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Chicago Executive Airport (PWK) with 5. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Wheeling without one.

Estimates use the same method as every Illinois school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy