What flight training costs at Chicago Executive (PWK)

6 schools train at Chicago Executive Airport, Chicago. 3 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.

Updated October 16, 2026 · All Illinois flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 6 of 6 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Chicago Executive$14.3K$22.7K
  • Lowest in IL

    Wheeling, IL·chicagoexecutiveflightschool.com

    $130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$85/hr instructor

    Checked October 8, 2026·Source

    The published rates are before a fuel surcharge that Chicago Executive states as $10/hr on the Cessna 150 and $20/hr on the Cessna 172, so budget those on top. Prepaid block plans of $2,500 and $5,000 lower the rates further ($118.50 and $107.00 on the 150, $178.00 and $161.00 on the 172); the retail rate is modeled. Instruction is $75/hr with a standard instructor and $150/hr with a senior instructor. A Frasca simulator is $90/hr and is not modeled. The fleet page also lists a Beechcraft Sundowner that the pricing page does not price. The Tecnam P92 Echo is priced flat at $192/hr with no fuel surcharge and no block discount, so it is the only aircraft here whose advertised figure is the figure.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $16,665

    range $14.3K to $19K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planChicago Executive cost breakdown →
  • Boraam Aviation

    Part not stated
    Largest fleet

    Prospect Heights, IL·boraamaviation.com

    $140/hr aircraft (wet)·$90/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    Every airplane is published twice, at a standard rate and about $10/hr less on a 10-hour block; the standard rate is used here. Instruction is $90/hr for the Private and $100/hr for the Instrument and Commercial. A separate $120/hr applies in a student-provided airplane and a $100/hr checkout fee applies to the Saratoga, neither of which is used here. Boraam prices the Saratoga for Instrument and Commercial students only.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $17,675

    range $15.2K to $20.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planBoraam cost breakdown →
  • Wheeling, IL·wairaviation.com

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)·$85/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $19,905

    range $17.1K to $22.7K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planWAir cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Fly There

    Part not stated

    Wheeling, IL·PWK·flytherellc.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Fly There does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Fly There
  • Wheeling, IL·PWK·leadingedgeflyingclub.com

    $220/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    The Archer III is $220 per Hobbs hour wet with block rates offered. Five instructors are listed by name and none is priced; dues are not published.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Leading Edge Flying Club does not publish an instructor rate

    What to ask Leading Edge Flying Club
  • Zain Aviation

    Part not stated

    Wheeling, IL·PWK·zainaviation.com

    $190/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·3 aircraft published

    Solo rates are recorded as the aircraft rates. Dual rates run $50 above solo on the 152 and $70 above on the Arrow, so the pairs do not agree and no instructor rate is derived. Nothing says wet or dry. A simulator is $60/hr.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Zain does not publish an instructor rate

    What to ask Zain

Estimates use the same method as every Illinois school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Discovery flights at PWK 2

Illinois discovery flights →

Flight school costs at Chicago Executive, in numbers

Computed from the 3 Chicago Executive schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 3 schools with published rates
$17,675
Published trainer rental, per hour
$130 to $175
Published instruction, per hour
$85 to $100
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
3 of 6

Common questions about flight schools at PWK

How much does flight school cost at Chicago Executive?

Across the 3 Chicago Executive flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $175 per hour and instruction $85 to $100 per hour, checked as recently as October 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $16,665 and $19,905, with a median of $17,675. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.

What is the cheapest flight school at Chicago Executive?

Chicago Executive Flight School in Wheeling publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 3 Chicago Executive schools listed here, $130 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked October 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.

How current are these Chicago Executive flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Chicago Executive is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools at Chicago Executive are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Can I take a discovery flight at PWK?

2 of the 6 schools at Chicago Executive Airport publish a discovery flight price: Boraam Aviation at $270, checked October 16, 2026 and WAir Aviation at $350, checked October 16, 2026. Each is the school's own published price, and the listing says what it includes.