What flight training costs at Schaumburg flight schools

2 schools train out of Schaumburg. All of them publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate.

One field: Schaumburg Regional Airport (06C). Updated October 16, 2026 · All Illinois flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 2 of 2 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Schaumburg$13.3K$21.4K
  • Lowest in IL

    Schaumburg, IL·citywings.net

    $130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$65/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    Citywings sells lessons as credits, and the hourly rates here apply only on its Basic 10 Pack or Pack of 20; buying credits individually costs $140 per credit. Instructor overage is billed in six-minute intervals. The site prices a basic airplane and a deluxe airplane without saying which of its two light-sport types, a REMOS GX and a Flight Design CTLS, is which, and a premium rate is listed as coming soon. It does not say whether fuel is included.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $15,505

    range $13.3K to $17.7K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planCitywings cost breakdown →
  • Holiday Airways

    Part not stated
    Largest fleet

    Schaumburg, IL·flyholidayairways.com

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)·$65/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    Rates are wet and billed on Hobbs time, effective March 9, 2025. Instruction is tiered: $65/hr for the Private, $70/hr for the Instrument and Commercial, $75/hr for tailwheel, aerobatic, multi-engine or a customer-owned airplane, and $45/hr for ground. A Piper Aztec is listed as coming soon with no rate, so no multi-engine estimate is shown.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $18,745

    range $16.1K to $21.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planHoliday Airways cost breakdown →

Estimates use the same method as every Illinois school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs in Schaumburg, in numbers

Computed from the 2 Schaumburg schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses.

Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
$17,125
Published trainer rental, per hour
$130 to $175
Published instruction, per hour
$65 to $70
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
2 of 2

Airports with Schaumburg flight schools

Common questions about Schaumburg flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Schaumburg?

Across the 2 Schaumburg flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $175 per hour and instruction $65 to $70 per hour, checked as recently as October 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,505 and $18,745, with a median of $17,125. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.

What is the cheapest flight school in Schaumburg?

Citywings Flight School in Schaumburg publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Schaumburg schools listed here, $130 per hour for its Basic airplane, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked October 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.

How current are these Schaumburg flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Schaumburg is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Which Schaumburg airports have flight schools?

One field carries the listed schools: Schaumburg Regional Airport (06C) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Schaumburg without one.