Rates partly published · South Bend, IN
Flight training at Wings Flying Club
No instructor rate. Wings Flying Club publishes rates for all 2 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked August 13, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Wings Flying Club at KSBN.
- Based at
- South Bend International Airport(SBN)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Website
- wingsflyingclub.com
Section 1What is published
Wings Flying Club's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| N4378Q1971 | $135/hr | Wet, Hobbs time. IFR with dual Garmin G5s. The club does not publish the model. |
| N2214M1977 | $145/hr | Wet, Hobbs time. IFR with advanced avionics. The club does not publish the model. |
Airframes built 1971 to 1977. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 4, 2026.
Both rates are stated wet and billed on Hobbs time. A student pilot membership fee of $100 appears in the club's documents; ongoing dues are not published.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Wings Flying Club's rates. The middle of what 10 Indiana schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $129 to $200 per hour.
- $175
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 10 schools with published rates.
- $65
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Wings Flying Club is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Indiana-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Wings Flying Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What does instruction cost per hour?Missing from their site
Both aircraft are priced to the tail and no instruction figure appears anywhere, including the club's own PDFs.
What are the full membership dues and the buy-in?
For a club these usually decide the real cost, and only a $100 student membership fee is published.
What are the two aircraft?
The club prices both by tail number and never names the make or model of either.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Wings Flying Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
10 Indiana schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Air MarionMarion, IN · Checked September 12, 2026$170/hr$55/hr instruction
- BOLDFlightGreenwood & Danville, IN · Checked September 3, 2026$175/hr$65 to $70/hr instruction
- Griffith AviationGriffith, IN · Checked September 12, 2026$132/hr$60 to $70/hr instruction
- Hoosier AviationTerre Haute, IN · Checked September 8, 2026$135/hr$50/hr instruction
- Jeff Air Pilot ServicesAnderson & Shelbyville, IN · Checked September 12, 2026$182/hr$75/hr instruction
- New Horizons AviationGoshen, IN · Checked September 12, 2026$129/hr$43 to $48/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- AOPA flight school finder, Wings Flying Club at KSBNChecked August 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Wings Flying Club aircraft pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Wings Flying Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Wings Flying Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Indiana flight schools
- Air Marion · Marion
- AlphaFlight · Plymouth
- BMG Aviation · Bloomington
- BOLDFlight · Greenwood & Danville
- Brown Flying School · Terre Haute
- Cherry Hill Aviation · Freetown
- Dubois County Airport Authority · Huntingburg
- Falcon Aviation · Kendallville
- Flight Saga · Michigan City
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


