PilotBound estimate · Danville, KY · Checked September 10, 2026
What flight training at Wings Flight Training costs
Website wingsflighttraining.com
Phone 888-946-4759
Conveniently located near
- Lexington
- Georgetown
- Frankfort
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Wings Flight Training
range $19.4K – $25.7K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Wings Flight Training's published rates: Cessna 172N at $185/hr + $92/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$11,083 on Wings Flight Training's own rates. Quotes usually price the 35-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset). Note: Part 141 typically runs higher, not lower.
The hourly flying is priced on Wings Flight Training's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Wings Flight Training's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Wings Flight Training publishes
checked September 10, 2026Airframes built 1976 to 2025. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.
Wings charges a one-time $75 enrollment fee. Instruction is priced from $92/hr. Fuel basis not stated on the site.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Wings Flight Training's site does not state whether its rates include fuel.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $22,509.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Kentucky-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $22,509Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 5 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $22,509 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Wings Flight Training's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Wings Flight Training?
- Wings Flight Training publishes $185 per hour for the Cessna 172N and $92 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $22,509, in a range of $19,400 to $25,700. That covers roughly 78 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Wings Flight Training.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Wings Flight Training?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Wings Flight Training to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 78 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Wings Flight Training a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Wings Flight Training trains under Part 141, an FAA-approved syllabus with a structured course of study. Part 141 can finish the private certificate in fewer required hours on paper (35 versus 40), though in practice most students at either kind of school fly past the minimum. Part 141 also matters if you plan to use VA benefits, which generally require an approved 141 course.
- Do Wings Flight Training's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Wings Flight Training publishes $185 per hour for the Cessna 172N, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Wings Flight Training?
- Wings Flight Training trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $92 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Wings Flight Training's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Wings Flight Training's published Cessna 172N and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Wings Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Wings Flight Training? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
One other school flies from Stuart Powell Field.
It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. DVK is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Lynn AviationPublishes no ratesDanville
Other Kentucky flight schools
- Belmar Aviation · Georgetown
- Cardinal Wings Aviation · Louisville
- Career Flyers · Falmouth
- Don Davis Aviation · Henderson
- Final Approach Aviation · Murray
- Fleming-Mason Aviation · Maysville
- Flywell Aviation · Bowling Green
- Glasgow Aviation · Glasgow
- Kentucky Airmotive · Mount Sterling
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.